Age of Empires Forums


  advanced
in


Last post 08-14-2012, 8:24 AM by dutchJSCOOP. 22 replies.
Page 2 of 2 (23 items)   < Previous 1 2
Sort Posts:
  •  08-09-2012, 3:43 PM 964325 in reply to 964312
    Metis Metis is not online. Last active: Thu, Dec 26 2013, 1:38 AM
    Member
    Top 10 Contributor
    Total Posts: 7,783
    Last Post: 12-26-2013
    Member Since: 01-17-2007
    Subject: Re: AoE III cannot be played or installed for some reason

    I just found out that Local Users and Groups is only available in the Windows 7 Professional, Ultimate, and Enterprise editions -- sorry about that.

  •  08-09-2012, 3:56 PM 964329 in reply to 964312
    dutchJSCOOP dutchJSCOOP is not online. Last active: 08-31-2012, 5:11 PM
    Member
    Not Ranked
    Total Posts: 10
    Last Post: 08-31-2012
    Member Since: 08-08-2012
    Subject: Re: AoE III cannot be played or installed for some reason
    Created another admin user, same result :/
  •  08-09-2012, 4:58 PM 964335 in reply to 964329
    Metis Metis is not online. Last active: Thu, Dec 26 2013, 1:38 AM
    Member
    Top 10 Contributor
    Total Posts: 7,783
    Last Post: 12-26-2013
    Member Since: 01-17-2007
    Subject: Re: AoE III cannot be played or installed for some reason

    Do you have access to another computer on which to try installing the game to check if there might be something wrong with the disks that is not giving you an error message?

  •  08-11-2012, 12:58 PM 964563 in reply to 964335
    dutchJSCOOP dutchJSCOOP is not online. Last active: 08-31-2012, 5:11 PM
    Member
    Not Ranked
    Total Posts: 10
    Last Post: 08-31-2012
    Member Since: 08-08-2012
    Subject: Re: AoE III cannot be played or installed for some reason
    Yes I checked with the actual disks on another pc, the torrents not though...
  •  08-11-2012, 2:01 PM 964566 in reply to 964563
    Metis Metis is not online. Last active: Thu, Dec 26 2013, 1:38 AM
    Member
    Top 10 Contributor
    Total Posts: 7,783
    Last Post: 12-26-2013
    Member Since: 01-17-2007
    Subject: Re: AoE III cannot be played or installed for some reason

    dutchJSCOOP:
    the torrents not though...

    Since you have downloaded non-legitimate MS software and I can't really be sure if you ever had a legitimate copy I don't think I can help your further. Sorry, but I've worked with people for days in the past only to find that what I was really doing was trying to get a pirated copy of software to run on their system.

    My final suggestions:

    1. Ask a security analyst on the Tech Support Forum to check your system for malware.
    2. Contact HP support for instruction on how to restore your operating system to factory defaults.
    3. Purchase an original copy of the game via Steam or GFWL, etc. if you don't have one.
    4. Contact Microsoft Support for help with installing and running the game if you perform the steps listed in the install/reinstall procedures and still are having problems.

    Remember that almost all of us are just users here who try to help if and when we can; however, we can't fix everything. You can email the official moderator at Age3Support@Microsoft.com.

  •  08-13-2012, 12:58 PM 965064 in reply to 964566
    dutchJSCOOP dutchJSCOOP is not online. Last active: 08-31-2012, 5:11 PM
    Member
    Not Ranked
    Total Posts: 10
    Last Post: 08-31-2012
    Member Since: 08-08-2012
    Subject: Re: AoE III cannot be played or installed for some reason
    Well... That escalated quickly.
  •  08-13-2012, 2:01 PM 965069 in reply to 965064
    Metis Metis is not online. Last active: Thu, Dec 26 2013, 1:38 AM
    Member
    Top 10 Contributor
    Total Posts: 7,783
    Last Post: 12-26-2013
    Member Since: 01-17-2007
    Subject: Re: AoE III cannot be played or installed for some reason
    I'm not just totally abandoning you as your post seems to imply. Sites which cater to pirated software will almost always download malware along with your software. Therefore, checking your system for malware is the next step to take. After you have done this, and since there seems to be a problem with the installation process rather than the disks themselves, restoring your system to factory defaults also is in order. Finally, you should throw away the possibly infected torrent download disks and only use the original Microsoft disks when you re-install the game.
     
    Remember that this is an official Microsoft site and I've probably already helped you more than I should have once you said that you had downloaded a pirated copy of Microsoft software.
     
     
     
     
     
  •  08-14-2012, 8:24 AM 965125 in reply to 965069
    dutchJSCOOP dutchJSCOOP is not online. Last active: 08-31-2012, 5:11 PM
    Member
    Not Ranked
    Total Posts: 10
    Last Post: 08-31-2012
    Member Since: 08-08-2012
    Subject: Re: AoE III cannot be played or installed for some reason
    Well I understand and thank you for your help, but the only reason I downloaded the game in the first place was because of a faulty official Microsoft version of the game... But thanks again for your time and effort, and I understand your situation completely.
Page 2 of 2 (23 items)   < Previous 1 2
View as RSS news feed in XML