Age of Empires Forums


  advanced
in


Last post 02-26-2013, 2:04 PM by musketeer925. 272 replies.
Page 17 of 19 (273 items)   « First ... < Previous 15 16 17 18 19 Next >
Sort Posts:
  •  10-24-2009, 6:12 AM 850815 in reply to 850739
    kjn kjn is not online. Last active: 09/03/2011, 6:25 PM
    Member
    Top 10 Contributor
    Total Posts: 5,629
    Last Post: 09-03-2011
    Member Since: 12-24-2005
    Subject: Re: 9 of the most commonly asked questions concerning designing maps are answered here
    Kapow:

    Thanks :)

     another question. objectives. how the hell do you do them?

    If you go to page fifteen of this thread..Scroll down five posts..I kinda illustrated it already.

    Regards

  •  10-25-2009, 7:04 PM 851118 in reply to 850815
    kjn kjn is not online. Last active: 09/03/2011, 6:25 PM
    Member
    Top 10 Contributor
    Total Posts: 5,629
    Last Post: 09-03-2011
    Member Since: 12-24-2005
    Subject: Re: 9 of the most commonly asked questions concerning designing maps are answered here

    I just thought that this needs to be posted in here..

    This code will set your scenario to desired difficulty when playing from the main page.

    Just copy it into your trigger/typetest for the correct version of the game you're playing..Put it at the end of your "effects" section..

    Make sure to back up this folder before making any changes..

    Regards

    <Effect name="CHANGE Difficulty">
         <Param name= "level" dispName="Diff 0-3" VarType="string">0</Param>
         <Command>setWorldDifficulty(%level%);</Command>
      </Effect>
    
    You''ll then need to create a trigger in your scenario.
    E.G.
    Trigger1
    Active:
    Condition : Timer (3)
    Effect : Change difficulty
    0 : Sandbox
    1 : Easy
    2 : Moderate
    3 : Hard
    Save the scenario by using The "save as".
    You'll now be able to play your scenario at the desired difficulty 
    from the main menu/page
  •  07-03-2010, 5:25 PM 889662 in reply to 364126
    thedevil thedevil is not online. Last active: 07-03-2010, 5:25 PM
    Member
    Not Ranked
    Total Posts: 1
    Last Post: 07-03-2010
    Member Since: 07-03-2010
    Subject: Re: Forbidden tech and units

    Native (rocks):
    Wait, i thought 600= ten minutes...

    or you could...

    nevermind, i'm boggled at this. first one i don't know about.

    Anyway, kjn, have you played any of my scens?

     

    I have a question since I do the assault increases body to body, distance or besiege my soldiers?

    Sorry for my english lol 

  •  07-03-2010, 7:14 PM 889668 in reply to 851118
    kjn kjn is not online. Last active: 09/03/2011, 6:25 PM
    Member
    Top 10 Contributor
    Total Posts: 5,629
    Last Post: 09-03-2011
    Member Since: 12-24-2005
    Subject: Re: 9 of the most commonly asked questions concerning designing maps are answered here
    Native (rocks):
    Wait, i thought 600= ten minutes...

    or you could...

    nevermind, i'm boggled at this. first one i don't know about.

    Anyway, kjn, have you played any of my scens?

     

     

    thedevil:
    I have a question since I do the assault increases body to body, distance or besiege my soldiers?

    Not sure on what you're asking here?.Are you asking about changing the unit's stats?.If so..The "set tech status" effect and the "modify protounit" effect can help you on this..

    In the modify protounit effect..Some of the fields do work..You'll just have to experiment with that one.

    With the set tech status effect..You can stack the techs..You set them to "active" in a trigger..Then you add in a fire event to next trigger.

    In the next trigger you make all the techs you have chosen in the first trigger and set them to un-obtainable..Then add in a fire event to next trigger..Then in the next trigger, you set the techs to "active" again..

    You can repeat this as many times as you wish..E.G.

    Trigger1

    Active:

    Condition : Timer : 3

    Effect : Set tech status : Your chosen tech : Active

    Effect : Set tech status : Your chosen tech : Active

    Effect : Set tech status : Your chosen tech : Active

    Effect : Fire event : To trigger 2

    Trigger2   ( Fired from trigger1 )

    Nothing:

    Condition : Timer : 3

    Effect : Set tech status : Your chosen tech above : Un-obtainable

    Effect : Set tech status : Your chosen tech above : Un -obtainable

    Effect : Set tech status : Your chosen tech above : Un-obtainable

    Effect : Fire event : To trigger 3

    Trigger3   ( Fired from trigger two)

    Nothing :

    Effect : Set tech status : Your chosen tech : Active

    Effect : Set tech status : Your chosen tech : Active

    Effect : Set tech status : Your chosen tech : Active

    What I've illustrated here has raised the unit's chosen stats two times higher..You can repeat the trigger sequence and raise the unit's stats as many times as you wish. 

    Regards

     

  •  07-03-2010, 7:19 PM 889670 in reply to 889668
    WilliamWallace20 WilliamWallace20 is not online. Last active: 01-31-2014, 9:59 AM
    Member
    Wondering why Hunter is stalking Musketeer and EV
    Top 150 Contributor
    Total Posts: 1,131
    Last Post: 01-31-2014
    Member Since: 11-14-2009
    Subject: Re: 9 of the most commonly asked questions concerning designing maps are answered here
    kjn:
    Native (rocks):
    Wait, i thought 600= ten minutes...

    or you could...

    nevermind, i'm boggled at this. first one i don't know about.

    Anyway, kjn, have you played any of my scens?

     

     

    thedevil:
    I have a question since I do the assault increases body to body, distance or besiege my soldiers?

    Not sure on what you're asking here?.Are you asking about changing the unit's stats?

    Regards

     

    im not quite sure but i think he is talking something about an aura or maybe something likr tashunuke prowlers but i cant really decihper it :P

    ><!-- End: CommunityServer.Discussions.Controls.PostDisplay.TextPost -->

		                            </td>
	                            </tr>
	                            <tr>
	                                <td class=
  •  07-03-2010, 7:41 PM 889676 in reply to 889670
    kjn kjn is not online. Last active: 09/03/2011, 6:25 PM
    Member
    Top 10 Contributor
    Total Posts: 5,629
    Last Post: 09-03-2011
    Member Since: 12-24-2005
    Subject: Re: 9 of the most commonly asked questions concerning designing maps are answered here
    WilliamWallace20:
    kjn:
    Native (rocks):
    Wait, i thought 600= ten minutes...

    or you could...

    nevermind, i'm boggled at this. first one i don't know about.

    Anyway, kjn, have you played any of my scens?

     

     

    thedevil:
    I have a question since I do the assault increases body to body, distance or besiege my soldiers?

    Not sure on what you're asking here?.Are you asking about changing the unit's stats?

    Regards

     

    im not quite sure but i think he is talking something about an aura or maybe something likr tashunuke prowlers but i cant really decihper it :P

    Yea..I'm not too sure what he meant..He changed the thread's subject (which he should not of  done ) and he mentioned forbidden techs in it..So I played a hunch..Sometimes it is really hard to know for sure?..

    Regards

  •  08-26-2010, 6:01 PM 896264 in reply to 889676
    kjn kjn is not online. Last active: 09/03/2011, 6:25 PM
    Member
    Top 10 Contributor
    Total Posts: 5,629
    Last Post: 09-03-2011
    Member Since: 12-24-2005
    Subject: Re: 9 of the most commonly asked questions concerning designing maps are answered here

    Just thought this would do some good..

    I edited this a little more to help clarify some things

    Regards

    Here's something that may help you also!!
    1= Open your scenario editor up and click on "scenario" at top in brown bar. A drop menu appears.
    2= Click on "player data" and a window opens.
    3= For each computer player select the Ai button at right portion of window and select ailoaderstandard.xs
    4= For your civ you do nothing here!
    5= You then set the hc for your civ only..Optional..Editor assigns you a homecity. Then click re-set homecity for each computer player.
    6= Close the window.
    7= Click on "objects" at the top brown bar. A menu appears.
    8= Click on "place object".
    9= Select "all" and look below. You'll see "ai start". Select it.
    10= Highlight each of your computer players "select as" and then place one ai start at each of your computer player's town center (just touching it). Your ai start's color should be the same color,  as the civ that you're placing it for.
    11= When this is done press "esc" at the top left portion of your key board.
    12= Go up to the top brown bar and click on "scenario". A menu appears
    13= Click "playtest scenario".
    Good luck!

  •  08-26-2010, 6:42 PM 896271 in reply to 896264
    Michael89 Michael89 is not online. Last active: 12-24-2013, 12:12 PM
    Member
    Top 500 Contributor
    Total Posts: 580
    Last Post: 12-24-2013
    Member Since: 03-04-2010
    Subject: Re: 9 of the most commonly asked questions concerning designing maps are answered here
     i know how you make AI move with the start with towncenter but is there a way to make already made and placed vills&solders move

    WOOHOOO:
    Michael89 - I had never even heard of ESO until I got on here looking for answers... is it really a lot better than Gameranger?
    goldengold:
    u must 2 always make the villager man and woman,





  •  08-27-2010, 2:17 PM 896408 in reply to 896271
    kjn kjn is not online. Last active: 09/03/2011, 6:25 PM
    Member
    Top 10 Contributor
    Total Posts: 5,629
    Last Post: 09-03-2011
    Member Since: 12-24-2005
    Subject: Re: 9 of the most commonly asked questions concerning designing maps are answered here
    Are you referring to your player ( The player you're playing as ) or a computer player?
  •  12-21-2010, 7:24 PM 905421 in reply to 819173
    Warleader55555 Warleader55555 is not online. Last active: 02-15-2011, 9:33 PM
    Member
    Texas
    Top 500 Contributor
    Total Posts: 400
    Last Post: 02-15-2011
    Member Since: 11-19-2010
    Subject: Re: Fixed cannon

    kjn:
    Try placing several units around the fixed gun..That should keep it from changing..

    kjn,you may already know a way,but this is how I do a Fixed Gun as yours only.

    Make a trigger and make it timer millisec in a loop and then have it convert it,it will loop convert,but they will still get it,but for only a few millisecs.

    But you may want to try making it more complex,like when the enemy has one fixed gun as their unit,have it turn to another unit type (one that can't die or move) then have any of your units near it and goes back to normal,or even just put some SPC Heal Blocks around it and it should stay on your side,this you already know kjn,but this post is staying so it's just to give some ideas.


    Never let evil in your life, tell it to leave your life, and it shall not come back, but always keep an eye out if things go bad.
  •  12-21-2010, 7:28 PM 905422 in reply to 905421
    Warleader55555 Warleader55555 is not online. Last active: 02-15-2011, 9:33 PM
    Member
    Texas
    Top 500 Contributor
    Total Posts: 400
    Last Post: 02-15-2011
    Member Since: 11-19-2010
    Subject: Re: Fixed cannon
    But this is only for begginers that don't know how to make AI's work,like I didn't know a long time ago,and this is the same post that helped me make scenarios,though cruddy scenarios at the start,the AI did work,but I wonder why the AI don't talk in testing or singleplayer scenario,and yet online they talk...sometimes,but why am I talking here when this is all that needs to be in the post,eh,I got nothing else to do on this night,lol.

    Never let evil in your life, tell it to leave your life, and it shall not come back, but always keep an eye out if things go bad.
  •  12-22-2010, 3:36 PM 905498 in reply to 896408
    kjn kjn is not online. Last active: 09/03/2011, 6:25 PM
    Member
    Top 10 Contributor
    Total Posts: 5,629
    Last Post: 09-03-2011
    Member Since: 12-24-2005
    Subject: Re: 9 of the most commonly asked questions concerning designing maps are answered here

    Thank you for adding the data WarLeader5555..

    Please stop changing the "subject" of this thread?.

    This really confuses things in here!!!!!!!

  •  12-22-2010, 4:09 PM 905506 in reply to 905498
    MarquesdeSotero MarquesdeSotero is not online. Last active: 01-10-2014, 5:38 PM
    Member
    [_BR_T]
    Top 500 Contributor
    Total Posts: 730
    Last Post: 01-10-2014
    Member Since: 10-12-2009
    Subject: Re: 9 of the most commonly asked questions concerning designing maps are answered here

    yeah scenario design thread >>>>>>>> this thread

    Angry



    predatorfreak:
    MarquesdeSotero is OP!
  •  12-22-2010, 6:11 PM 905529 in reply to 905506
    kjn kjn is not online. Last active: 09/03/2011, 6:25 PM
    Member
    Top 10 Contributor
    Total Posts: 5,629
    Last Post: 09-03-2011
    Member Since: 12-24-2005
    Subject: Re: 9 of the most commonly asked questions concerning designing maps are answered here
    MarquesdeSotero:

    yeah scenario design thread >>>>>>>> this thread

    Angry

    Many have made them what they are!
  •  12-24-2010, 12:53 PM 905734 in reply to 905529
    Warleader55555 Warleader55555 is not online. Last active: 02-15-2011, 9:33 PM
    Member
    Texas
    Top 500 Contributor
    Total Posts: 400
    Last Post: 02-15-2011
    Member Since: 11-19-2010
    Subject: Re: 9 of the most commonly asked questions concerning designing maps are answered here
    Sorry sorry,but aren't AI's a part of scenario building? And I was just asking on how to get the AI's to talk,and this thread is pinned anyway,and it's about scenarios...so...is it ok to ask? or not?

    Never let evil in your life, tell it to leave your life, and it shall not come back, but always keep an eye out if things go bad.
Page 17 of 19 (273 items)   « First ... < Previous 15 16 17 18 19 Next >
View as RSS news feed in XML