Age of Empires Forums


  advanced
in


Last post 09-26-2013, 12:46 AM by RSGOLD. 51 replies.
Page 3 of 4 (52 items)   < Previous 1 2 3 4 Next >
Sort Posts:
  •  01-06-2012, 4:25 PM 947328 in reply to 947325
    Pear Pear is not online. Last active: 21 Sep 2013, 8:27 PM
    Member
    my mum and muzzies are scary
    Not Ranked
    Total Posts: 226
    Last Post: 09-21-2013
    Member Since: 09-05-2009
    Subject: Re: Age of Empires III - Available on Steam!
    Hooray!

    Pear:
    XxX_RAGE_XxX:

    Pear:
    i got ass hair!

    THAN SHAVE
    EDIT: SIG'D

    i did once at the front
    that night i couldnt sleep cause it itched bad maybe cause i used a rusty shaver
  •  01-06-2012, 5:26 PM 947331 in reply to 947328
    Ragga Ragga is not online. Last active: 01/07/2012, 6:55 AM
    Member
    Not Ranked
    Total Posts: 293
    Last Post: 01-07-2012
    Member Since: 10-04-2005
    Subject: Re: Age of Empires III - Available on Steam!

    it does, regardless of what everyone else says, seem a bit pricey - period.

    i only hope my retail version still works so that i can get back to playing it online with the many new fresh ppl playing!  im wondering if the steam overlay works?

  •  01-06-2012, 5:32 PM 947333 in reply to 947331
    Ryz0n Ryz0n is not online. Last active: 12-08-2014, 11:48 PM
    Moderator
    Redmond, WA
    Top 75 Contributor
    MGS
    Total Posts: 1,711
    Last Post: 12-08-2014
    Member Since: 12-20-2010
    Subject: Re: Age of Empires III - Available on Steam!
    For the steam version, it seems the overlay works on some systems.  In fact, despite both my work desktop and laptop having nearly identical hardware and software - one has the overlay working, while the other doesn't.  Ironically the one that works is literally the same type of laptop as the community manager for aoeo has, and it the overlay doesn't work on hers.  Yeah, i'm scratching my head too.  I'm currently investigating to see if I can figure it out. 
  •  01-06-2012, 5:37 PM 947335 in reply to 947331
    aok oldschool aok oldschool is not online. Last active: 08/13/2012, 8:44 PM
    Member
    The Global Sensation
    Top 150 Contributor
    Total Posts: 1,360
    Last Post: 08-13-2012
    Member Since: 12-10-2005
    Subject: Re: Age of Empires III - Available on Steam!
    Ragga:

    it does, regardless of what everyone else says, seem a bit pricey - period.

    i only hope my retail version still works so that i can get back to playing it online with the many new fresh ppl playing!  im wondering if the steam overlay works?

    Yeah the more I think about it the more I think it's overpriced. It will CERTAINLY be overpriced once the sale is over. Why'd you have to go besting my join date though man? '05 kids checking in.

  •  01-06-2012, 5:54 PM 947339 in reply to 947335
    deanparkr deanparkr is not online. Last active: 03 Jan 2014, 6:03 PM
    Member
    UK
    Top 500 Contributor
    Total Posts: 601
    Last Post: 01-03-2014
    Member Since: 10-10-2005
    Subject: Re: Age of Empires III - Available on Steam!

    Regarding the overlay.. does it work in windowed mode as opposed to full screen?

     


    www.remember-ensemblestudios.com
    http://twitter.com/Remember_ES
  •  01-06-2012, 6:04 PM 947340 in reply to 947339
    StormComing StormComing is not online. Last active: 01-26-2014, 12:21 PM
    Member
    Top 100 Contributor
    Total Posts: 1,474
    Last Post: 01-26-2014
    Member Since: 07-26-2010
    Subject: Re: Age of Empires III - Available on Steam!

    Mmm I'm looking at aoe3 in the steam store some more, and I'm of the opinion they could have done a LOT better job letting people know that 2 expansion packs are included.  I dont see anywhere on there something saying "2 expansion packs included blah blah blah".  I dont see anything describing the new features that TWC and TAD have to offer.  :/

    If I was a noob, saying "AOE3 Complete Collection" doesnt mean anything to me.... how am i supposed to know whether aoe3 had 2 shitty DLC's that added 1 civ each, or 2 HUGE ass DLC's?

    poor poor poor marketing here


    RIP AGE COM
  •  01-06-2012, 9:28 PM 947346 in reply to 947217
    LiveOnTheEdge LiveOnTheEdge is not online. Last active: 03/03/2014, 10:14 PM
    Member
    Not Ranked
    Total Posts: 13
    Last Post: 03-03-2014
    Member Since: 09-21-2006
    Subject: Re: Age of Empires III - Available on Steam!
    Just saw this a few hours ago when I logged into Steam. Pretty cool.

    Docile like a narcoleptic sloth
  •  01-07-2012, 4:49 AM 947383 in reply to 947333
    Jerom Jerom is not online. Last active: 28 Dec 2013, 7:18 PM
    Member
    Delfgauw, The Netherlands
    Top 10 Contributor
    Total Posts: 10,000
    Last Post: 12-28-2013
    Member Since: 11-19-2009
    Subject: Re: Age of Empires III - Available on Steam!

    Ryz0n:
    For the steam version, it seems the overlay works on some systems.  In fact, despite both my work desktop and laptop having nearly identical hardware and software - one has the overlay working, while the other doesn't.  Ironically the one that works is literally the same type of laptop as the community manager for aoeo has, and it the overlay doesn't work on hers.  Yeah, i'm scratching my head too.  I'm currently investigating to see if I can figure it out. 

    steam overlay worked for me before aoe3 was out on steam :-)

    With Xfire the trick sometimes is to launch as administrator so maybe thats a solution ?

    Anyways, great having aoe3 on steam but I think its pretty expensive for a launch sale, I mean, that should truly be a sale, rather than an acceptable price for the game. 


    [N3O] Jerom_the_brave
    http://www.youtube.com/user/N3OJerom?feature=mhee

  •  01-07-2012, 1:27 PM 947523 in reply to 947383
    Ryz0n Ryz0n is not online. Last active: 12-08-2014, 11:48 PM
    Moderator
    Redmond, WA
    Top 75 Contributor
    MGS
    Total Posts: 1,711
    Last Post: 12-08-2014
    Member Since: 12-20-2010
    Subject: Re: Age of Empires III - Available on Steam!
    Jerom:

    Ryz0n:
    For the steam version, it seems the overlay works on some systems.  In fact, despite both my work desktop and laptop having nearly identical hardware and software - one has the overlay working, while the other doesn't.  Ironically the one that works is literally the same type of laptop as the community manager for aoeo has, and it the overlay doesn't work on hers.  Yeah, i'm scratching my head too.  I'm currently investigating to see if I can figure it out. 

    steam overlay worked for me before aoe3 was out on steam :-)

    With Xfire the trick sometimes is to launch as administrator so maybe thats a solution ?


    Run as admin is actually part of the win7 tweaks I helped valve get in to the game.  It requests elevation by default when launching.  

    Now that I think about it, any computers with UAC on i don't think the overlay worked.  Could be coincidental though, I'll have to examine Monday  

  •  01-08-2012, 10:14 AM 947574 in reply to 947523
    Kevin The Great Kevin The Great is not online. Last active: 01-11-2012, 3:05 PM
    Member
    Not Ranked
    Total Posts: 14
    Last Post: 01-11-2012
    Member Since: 12-24-2010
    Subject: Re: Age of Empires III - Available on Steam!
    We should be able to activate a retail copy of AOE3 on Steam. Maybe you could make it so that when you enter the CD Key for AOE3 in the games library, it should activate the complete collection pack on Steam.
  •  01-08-2012, 2:18 PM 947584 in reply to 947574
    Ryz0n Ryz0n is not online. Last active: 12-08-2014, 11:48 PM
    Moderator
    Redmond, WA
    Top 75 Contributor
    MGS
    Total Posts: 1,711
    Last Post: 12-08-2014
    Member Since: 12-20-2010
    Subject: Re: Age of Empires III - Available on Steam!

    Kevin The Great:
    We should be able to activate a retail copy of AOE3 on Steam. Maybe you could make it so that when you enter the CD Key for AOE3 in the games library, it should activate the complete collection pack on Steam.

    While retail activation is available for some new games, it is not offered on steam for Age of Empires III at this time.

     

  •  05-11-2012, 11:39 AM 956691 in reply to 947217
    myutwocar myutwocar is not online. Last active: 02/28/2013, 6:38 AM
    Member
    Not Ranked
    Total Posts: 5
    Last Post: 02-28-2013
    Member Since: 12-14-2006
    Subject: Re: Age of Empires III - Available on Steam!
    problem is how to promote aoe 3 to more players who play with or  others..
  •  05-11-2012, 8:53 PM 956708 in reply to 956691
    jayve98 jayve98 is not online. Last active: 09-07-2014, 8:59 PM
    Member
    Top 150 Contributor
    Total Posts: 1,189
    Last Post: 09-07-2014
    Member Since: 03-15-2012
    Subject: Re: Age of Empires III - Available on Steam!
    Any way that you could get the price down to $20 permanently? As that would encourage more people to actually buy the game.

    dcdonnie4:

    The more costeffective army can win vs a more expensive (better unit) because they can just keep throwing them at the other player.

  •  05-18-2012, 3:06 AM 957103 in reply to 956691
    Fatty13 Fatty13 is not online. Last active: 03-27-2013, 2:26 AM
    Member
    Not Ranked
    Total Posts: 3
    Last Post: 03-27-2013
    Member Since: 05-18-2012
    Subject: Re: Age of Empires III - Available on Steam!

    No idea how to just post so im replying to you lol.

    first of all wow such a throw back, usto be such a huge MP player of this game back in 05-08, the comunity was dying then though. Is the game really still alive MP wise? how many users are there online during the day on average?

  •  05-18-2012, 12:13 PM 957128 in reply to 957103
    Ryz0n Ryz0n is not online. Last active: 12-08-2014, 11:48 PM
    Moderator
    Redmond, WA
    Top 75 Contributor
    MGS
    Total Posts: 1,711
    Last Post: 12-08-2014
    Member Since: 12-20-2010
    Subject: Re: Age of Empires III - Available on Steam!
    Fatty13:

    No idea how to just post so im replying to you lol.

    first of all wow such a throw back, usto be such a huge MP player of this game back in 05-08, the comunity was dying then though. Is the game really still alive MP wise? how many users are there online during the day on average?

    You can keep an eye on usage stats here:

    http://www.agecommunity.com/_server_status_/

    Short version is "yes" 

Page 3 of 4 (52 items)   < Previous 1 2 3 4 Next >
View as RSS news feed in XML