Age of Empires Forums


  advanced
in


Last post 03-29-2012, 3:12 PM by Hagroth. 12 replies.
Sort Posts:
  •  08-14-2011, 2:24 AM 935257
    zanzi zanzi is not online. Last active: 07 Oct 2012, 2:17 AM
    Member
    Not Ranked
    Total Posts: 3
    Last Post: 10-07-2012
    Member Since: 08-14-2011
    Subject: Age of Empires 1 - How to export the profile
    Hi! I'm about to reinstall my system, I play AOE and I've managed to complete about 70% of the game. I don't wanna lose it. Is there a way to export the profile so I could copy the profile and have all the campaigns I've won available from the campaign lists on the new system?
  •  08-14-2011, 8:58 AM 935280 in reply to 935257
    Verelina / Flametalon Verelina / Flametalon is not online. Last active: 05/04/2013, 12:25 PM
    Member
    I ONLY PLAY WOW NOW
    Top 75 Contributor
    Total Posts: 1,848
    Last Post: 05-04-2013
    Member Since: 02-24-2007
    Subject: Re: Age of Empires 1 - How to export the profile

    Yes, yes there is, my dear Zanzil. Copy the "Age of Empires" folder from "My Games" (in My Documents), and there you go.

    Oh, and don't forget... Zanzil's elixir gives you life!


  •  08-14-2011, 9:35 AM 935282 in reply to 935280
    zanzi zanzi is not online. Last active: 07 Oct 2012, 2:17 AM
    Member
    Not Ranked
    Total Posts: 3
    Last Post: 10-07-2012
    Member Since: 08-14-2011
    Subject: Re: Age of Empires 1 - How to export the profile
    There's no such directory as "Age of Empires" in "My Games" folder...
  •  08-14-2011, 9:48 AM 935283 in reply to 935282
    Verelina / Flametalon Verelina / Flametalon is not online. Last active: 05/04/2013, 12:25 PM
    Member
    I ONLY PLAY WOW NOW
    Top 75 Contributor
    Total Posts: 1,848
    Last Post: 05-04-2013
    Member Since: 02-24-2007
    Subject: Re: Age of Empires 1 - How to export the profile
    Then check for a "Saved Game" (or similarly named) folder in your Age of Empires directory.

  •  08-14-2011, 9:51 AM 935285 in reply to 935280
    sobhagadi sobhagadi is not online. Last active: 12-12-2013, 10:34 AM
    Member
    Not Ranked
    Total Posts: 173
    Last Post: 12-12-2013
    Member Since: 09-16-2010
    Subject: Re: Age of Empires 1 - How to export the profile
    Sheogorath:

    Yes, yes there is, my dear Zanzil. Copy the "Age of Empires" folder from "My Games" (in My Documents), and there you go.

    Oh, and don't forget... Zanzil's elixir gives you life!

     

     

    Aoe 1 doesnt have a My Games folder 

  •  08-15-2011, 1:48 AM 935414 in reply to 935283
    zanzi zanzi is not online. Last active: 07 Oct 2012, 2:17 AM
    Member
    Not Ranked
    Total Posts: 3
    Last Post: 10-07-2012
    Member Since: 08-14-2011
    Subject: Re: Age of Empires 1 - How to export the profile

    Sheogorath:
    Then check for a "Saved Game" (or similarly named) folder in your Age of Empires directory.

    Well... savegame folder of course exist... BUT... that's only a savegames. They're only getting me back at the certain point of a single mission.

    It's not a solution. Still no luck of backing up the profile... Where the hell is it

    ===============================================================

    With a few attempts on my virtual machine I've managed to find a solution. The key to success is the game0.nfo file in the main AOE directory AND two parameters in the registry

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Games\Age of Empires\1.00

    'Game File Number' and 'PID' must be identical on both systems so it's all comes back to back up these two parameters from original Windows registry where the game was played and saved and import it on the new system with game0.nfo.

  •  09-13-2011, 4:03 PM 939175 in reply to 935414
    amurillo amurillo is not online. Last active: 10-10-2011, 8:11 AM
    Member
    Not Ranked
    Total Posts: 4
    Last Post: 10-10-2011
    Member Since: 09-12-2011
    Subject: Re: Age of Empires 1 - How to export the profile

    ive just tried that and didnt work,i exported the regedit file to my game installation file then done my computer again then double clicked on the reg file in my games directory to make HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Games\Age of Empires\1.00 but when i start the game no profile or campaigns are done

     

  •  09-13-2011, 4:16 PM 939176 in reply to 939175
    amurillo amurillo is not online. Last active: 10-10-2011, 8:11 AM
    Member
    Not Ranked
    Total Posts: 4
    Last Post: 10-10-2011
    Member Since: 09-12-2011
    Subject: Re: Age of Empires 1 - How to export the profile
    also if i were to open the game0.nfo with wordpad on windows 7 it just a load of weird writing
  •  09-13-2011, 6:02 PM 939188 in reply to 939176
    musketeer925 musketeer925 is not online. Last active: 03-13-2014, 9:15 PM
    Member
    Head of Custom Content (Unofficial)
    Top 25 Contributor
    Total Posts: 4,013
    Last Post: 03-13-2014
    Member Since: 05-18-2009
    Subject: Re: Age of Empires 1 - How to export the profile
    amurillo:
    also if i were to open the game0.nfo with wordpad on windows 7 it just a load of weird writing
    Of course it's a bunch of weird writing -- it's binary, which you attempted to read with ANSI encoding. But that's irrelevant.

    Did you copy this file from your old computer to the new one (in the correct place, of course)? His post seems to imply this is where the information is stored.

  •  09-14-2011, 3:48 PM 939282 in reply to 939188
    amurillo amurillo is not online. Last active: 10-10-2011, 8:11 AM
    Member
    Not Ranked
    Total Posts: 4
    Last Post: 10-10-2011
    Member Since: 09-12-2011
    Subject: Re: Age of Empires 1 - How to export the profile
    well its on my second partition which is where i installed the game
  •  12-10-2011, 3:57 PM 945475 in reply to 939282
    TheGameboy TheGameboy is not online. Last active: 02-16-2013, 2:41 PM
    Member
    Switzerland
    Not Ranked
    Total Posts: 102
    Last Post: 02-16-2013
    Member Since: 06-22-2011
    Subject: Re: Age of Empires 1 - How to export the profile
    When you like Age of Empires, play the full game again! (I'd play it again)

  •  12-11-2011, 1:18 PM 945520 in reply to 935257
    Random145 Random145 is not online. Last active: 01/01/2012, 3:04 AM
    Member
    Not Ranked
    Total Posts: 33
    Last Post: 01-01-2012
    Member Since: 11-30-2011
    Subject: Re: Age of Empires 1 - How to export the profile
    try copying all of the data onto a flashdrive then reinstall the game & place in the data that you want that might help. ive done that with senarios for aoe3 that i have on multiple computers
  •  03-29-2012, 3:12 PM 953484 in reply to 935414
    Hagroth Hagroth is not online. Last active: 2012-03-30, 5:15 PM
    Member
    Not Ranked
    Total Posts: 1
    Last Post: 03-30-2012
    Member Since: 03-29-2012
    Subject: Re: Age of Empires 1 - How to export the profile
    zanzi:

    With a few attempts on my virtual machine I've managed to find a solution. The key to success is the game0.nfo file in the main AOE directory AND two parameters in the registry

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Games\Age of Empires\1.00

    'Game File Number' and 'PID' must be identical on both systems so it's all comes back to back up these two parameters from original Windows registry where the game was played and saved and import it on the new system with game0.nfo.

    I have played the original "Age of Empires" for a while and completed a couple of campaigns. I recently decided to install the expansion, "The Rise of Rome" mainly because of the many improvements like unit build queues etc. Naturally, I wanted my profile to appear in the games in the new "Age of Empires" folder (containing both a new original exe and the expansion exe). All I had to do was to copy the "game0.nfo" from the old, original "Age of Empires" folder to the new one. Thanks a lot, zanzi!


    http://www.youtube.com/SwedishBerzerker
View as RSS news feed in XML