Age of Empires Forums


  advanced
in


Last post 04-17-2012, 12:14 PM by Harn33. 9 replies.
Sort Posts:
  •  04-15-2012, 3:19 PM 954898
    Harn33 Harn33 is not online. Last active: 05-06-2012, 8:43 AM
    Member
    Not Ranked
    Total Posts: 18
    Last Post: 05-06-2012
    Member Since: 02-25-2010
    Subject: Problems with AoE3 Patches & CRC error

    Hi everybody, after a long break I wanted to play AoE3 (TAD) again. Unfortunately the game is not working anymore on the ESO servers. Every game I try to join gives me a CRC error.

    I found out that for some strange reasons, not every file of my game got "patched".

    The problem is, that I can't patch the game again, because the patch says that my game is up to date.

    so my questions:

    1. Is there a way to deinstall a patch and reinstall ?

    2.  If this is not possible, is there a way I can trick the patcher so he thinks I'm not using the newest version= (it seems that the patcher only checks 1 file and if this is up to date he doesnt want to patch..)

     Reinstalling the whole game is not possible for me at the moment, because I moved to another city and the game is still in my parents house....

  •  04-15-2012, 3:23 PM 954901 in reply to 954898
    HunterCallahan HunterCallahan is not online. Last active: 09-13-2013, 10:24 AM
    Member
    <Insert clever location here>
    Top 75 Contributor
    Total Posts: 1,862
    Last Post: 09-13-2013
    Member Since: 01-04-2010
    Subject: Re: Problems with AoE3 Patches & CRC error

    Well, you can just download the patch and not use the in-game patcher http://www.agecommunity.com/gameUpdates_yp.aspx

     

    If that doesn't help, you could try to re-install TAD and then patch it from the new installation.


    cam44:

    wut inn thee fawk r u tokking abowt?
  •  04-15-2012, 3:27 PM 954904 in reply to 954901
    Harn33 Harn33 is not online. Last active: 05-06-2012, 8:43 AM
    Member
    Not Ranked
    Total Posts: 18
    Last Post: 05-06-2012
    Member Since: 02-25-2010
    Subject: Re: Problems with AoE3 Patches & CRC error

    I've already tryed out the "not-ingame" patcher. He also says that my game is "up to date".

     

    And as I said, reinstall TAD is not possible at the moment.

    Is there no way to trick the patcher, so he patchs my game again?.....

  •  04-15-2012, 3:34 PM 954906 in reply to 954904
    HunterCallahan HunterCallahan is not online. Last active: 09-13-2013, 10:24 AM
    Member
    <Insert clever location here>
    Top 75 Contributor
    Total Posts: 1,862
    Last Post: 09-13-2013
    Member Since: 01-04-2010
    Subject: Re: Problems with AoE3 Patches & CRC error
    You will get CRC mismatch if certain files in the game have been modified. Have you installed any mods or changed any files in the game?

    cam44:

    wut inn thee fawk r u tokking abowt?
  •  04-15-2012, 3:38 PM 954907 in reply to 954906
    Harn33 Harn33 is not online. Last active: 05-06-2012, 8:43 AM
    Member
    Not Ranked
    Total Posts: 18
    Last Post: 05-06-2012
    Member Since: 02-25-2010
    Subject: Re: Problems with AoE3 Patches & CRC error

    If I remember right, once I might installed a Fanpatch or something like this.

  •  04-15-2012, 3:45 PM 954909 in reply to 954907
    HunterCallahan HunterCallahan is not online. Last active: 09-13-2013, 10:24 AM
    Member
    <Insert clever location here>
    Top 75 Contributor
    Total Posts: 1,862
    Last Post: 09-13-2013
    Member Since: 01-04-2010
    Subject: Re: Problems with AoE3 Patches & CRC error
    That could cause the CRC mismatch. I would send an email to Ryz0n, the moderator for AoE3 (Age3support@microsoft.com). He likely wont be able to reply till Tuesday or Wednesday this week.

    cam44:

    wut inn thee fawk r u tokking abowt?
  •  04-15-2012, 7:36 PM 954916 in reply to 954909
    musketeer925 musketeer925 is not online. Last active: 03-13-2014, 9:15 PM
    Member
    Head of Custom Content (Unofficial)
    Top 25 Contributor
    Total Posts: 4,013
    Last Post: 03-13-2014
    Member Since: 05-18-2009
    Subject: Re: Problems with AoE3 Patches & CRC error
    The only way to reinstall a patch is to reinstall TAD.
  •  04-16-2012, 4:44 AM 954940 in reply to 954916
    Harn33 Harn33 is not online. Last active: 05-06-2012, 8:43 AM
    Member
    Not Ranked
    Total Posts: 18
    Last Post: 05-06-2012
    Member Since: 02-25-2010
    Subject: Re: Problems with AoE3 Patches & CRC error

    Ok, I've just found a solution.

     Two years ago, I also installed AoE3 TAD on my Laptop. Now I just patched the 3 versions of the game on my laptop (vanilla,twc,tad) and copied the "invalid files" according the age3filechecker to my pc. And now it works :)

     

    Other question:

    Is there a way to reset my online ranking? Due to my inactivity, ESO set my games to zero and also my "win games" to zero. But my Ranking is still there (1. Lieutnant). Due to the fact that I did not play for like 20 months I'm equal to a pr5 and not pr25+. 

    Is there another solution than losing games on purpose to get a "normal" pr ?

  •  04-16-2012, 11:58 AM 954975 in reply to 954940
    Ryz0n Ryz0n is not online. Last active: 12-08-2014, 11:48 PM
    Moderator
    Redmond, WA
    Top 75 Contributor
    MGS
    Total Posts: 1,711
    Last Post: 12-08-2014
    Member Since: 12-20-2010
    Subject: Re: Problems with AoE3 Patches & CRC error
    Harn33:

    Ok, I've just found a solution.

     Two years ago, I also installed AoE3 TAD on my Laptop. Now I just patched the 3 versions of the game on my laptop (vanilla,twc,tad) and copied the "invalid files" according the age3filechecker to my pc. And now it works :)

     

    Other question:

    Is there a way to reset my online ranking? Due to my inactivity, ESO set my games to zero and also my "win games" to zero. But my Ranking is still there (1. Lieutnant). Due to the fact that I did not play for like 20 months I'm equal to a pr5 and not pr25+. 

    Is there another solution than losing games on purpose to get a "normal" pr ?

    You your online ranking will not be reset.  Sorry.  

  •  04-17-2012, 12:14 PM 955052 in reply to 954975
    Harn33 Harn33 is not online. Last active: 05-06-2012, 8:43 AM
    Member
    Not Ranked
    Total Posts: 18
    Last Post: 05-06-2012
    Member Since: 02-25-2010
    Subject: Re: Problems with AoE3 Patches & CRC error

    But why did ESO reset my games and wins then ? That's pretty stupid. If ESO doesn't reset my PR, I also want my stats back.

    It's pretty senseless to play with a PR24 account and 0% win.

     

    I lost my first 4 games and I only lost like 3PR. So I will have 0-15 stats until I reach my appropriate/deserved PR (around 12).

     

    Well, seems like I have to live with that :(

    Anyway thanks for the fast answers, seems like this is the best age of empires3 forum on the net.

View as RSS news feed in XML