Age of Empires Forums


  advanced
in


Last post 07-04-2012, 10:28 PM by Meep26. 8 replies.
Sort Posts:
  •  06-29-2012, 2:17 PM 960352
    quickfireme quickfireme is not online. Last active: 07-28-2012, 11:09 AM
    Member
    Not Ranked
    Total Posts: 3
    Last Post: 07-28-2012
    Member Since: 06-30-2012
    Subject: Direct3D initialization failed

    when i try play age of empires 3 i get this message
     

    Direct3D initialization failed. Possible causes:

    Old or corrupted graphics driver.

    Direct3D improperly installed.

    Hardware acceleration disabled.

    Starting the application with the workstation locked.
     
    My laptop specifications are:
     
    ------------------
    System Information
    ------------------

       Operating System: Windows Vista™ Home Premium (6.0, Build 6002) Service Pack 2 (6002.vistasp2_gdr.120402-0336)
               Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
    System Manufacturer: TOSHIBA
           System Model: EQUIUM A100
                   BIOS: BIOS Version 5.10
              Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU         T5200  @ 1.60GHz (2 CPUs), ~1.6GHz
                 Memory: 2550MB RAM
              Page File: 1438MB used, 3877MB available
            Windows Dir: C:\Windows
        DirectX Version: DirectX 11
    DX Setup Parameters: Not found
         DxDiag Version: 7.00.6002.18107 32bit Unicode

    ------------
    DxDiag Notes
    ------------
          Display Tab 1: No problems found.
            Sound Tab 1: No problems found.
              Input Tab: No problems found.

    --------------------
    DirectX Debug Levels
    --------------------
    Direct3D:    0/4 (retail)
    DirectDraw:  0/4 (retail)
    DirectInput: 0/5 (retail)
    DirectMusic: 0/5 (retail)
    DirectPlay:  0/9 (retail)
    DirectSound: 0/5 (retail)
    DirectShow:  0/6 (retail)

    ---------------
    Display Devices
    ---------------
            Card name: Mobile Intel(R) 945 Express Chipset Family
         Manufacturer: Intel Corporation
            Chip type: Intel(R) GMA 950
             DAC type: Internal
           Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_27A2&SUBSYS_FF101179&REV_03
       Display Memory: 256 MB
     Dedicated Memory: 0 MB
        Shared Memory: 256 MB
         Current Mode: 1280 x 800 (32 bit) (60Hz)
              Monitor: Generic PnP Monitor
          Driver Name: igdumd32.dll
       Driver Version: 7.14.0010.1504 (English)
          DDI Version: unknown
       BGRA Supported: Yes
    Driver Attributes: Final Retail
     Driver Date/Size: 6/18/2008 13:38:24, 3305472 bytes
          WHQL Logo'd: Yes
      WHQL Date Stamp: 
    Device Identifier: {D7B78E66-64E2-11CF-2977-1ADFA2C2CA35}
            Vendor ID: 0x8086
            Device ID: 0x27A2
            SubSys ID: 0xFF101179
          Revision ID: 0x0003
         DDraw Status: Enabled
           D3D Status: Not Available
           AGP Status: Enabled

    help please i really wanna play this so bad!
     
     
  •  06-29-2012, 6:32 PM 960367 in reply to 960352
    Meep26 Meep26 is not online. Last active: 12-03-2012, 4:58 PM
    Member
    Not Ranked
    Total Posts: 16
    Last Post: 12-03-2012
    Member Since: 06-29-2012
    Subject: Re: Direct3D initialization failed
    Now is your game downloaded from a cd or did you download from gamestop

    always expect the unexpected
  •  06-30-2012, 5:27 AM 960397 in reply to 960352
    ThatRabbi ThatRabbi is not online. Last active: 12-13-2013, 2:13 PM
    Member
    Not Ranked
    Total Posts: 120
    Last Post: 12-13-2013
    Member Since: 04-25-2012
    Subject: Re: Direct3D initialization failed
    I think I got the same message . Upgrade your graphics driver . That's my suggestion , doesnt mean that's the problem
  •  06-30-2012, 8:43 AM 960407 in reply to 960367
    quickfireme quickfireme is not online. Last active: 07-28-2012, 11:09 AM
    Member
    Not Ranked
    Total Posts: 3
    Last Post: 07-28-2012
    Member Since: 06-30-2012
    Subject: Re: Direct3D initialization failed
    downloaded from a CD and i updated it but its still saying the same message
  •  07-01-2012, 12:31 AM 960455 in reply to 960407
    Metis Metis is not online. Last active: Thu, Dec 26 2013, 1:38 AM
    Member
    Top 10 Contributor
    Total Posts: 7,783
    Last Post: 12-26-2013
    Member Since: 01-17-2007
    Subject: Re: Direct3D initialization failed
    Card name: Mobile Intel(R) 945 Express Chipset Family
    Manufacturer: Intel Corporation
    Chip type: Intel(R) GMA 950 

    The Intel 945 family of integrated video does not natively support this game.

    Unsupported video cards (from the FAQ): 

    Intel 945
    Intel 945G:0x2773
    Intel 945GM:0x27A3

    Some third-party software developers have developed drivers that attempt to expand the functionality of the 945 chipset. Whether you try these or not is entirely up to you. I do not have a 945 chipset system and have not tried them so I can't endorse them. I merely provide this link as an example of what you might look for.

    http://angelictears9xxssf.wordpress.com/2011/06/01/sherry-1-3-for-intel-945-graphics-released/

  •  07-01-2012, 9:40 AM 960485 in reply to 960455
    quickfireme quickfireme is not online. Last active: 07-28-2012, 11:09 AM
    Member
    Not Ranked
    Total Posts: 3
    Last Post: 07-28-2012
    Member Since: 06-30-2012
    Subject: Re: Direct3D initialization failed
    ive tried it but it didnt work :( thanks tho
  •  07-04-2012, 10:59 AM 960736 in reply to 960485
    quickfireme quickfireme is not online. Last active: 07-28-2012, 11:09 AM
    Member
    Not Ranked
    Total Posts: 3
    Last Post: 07-28-2012
    Member Since: 06-30-2012
    Subject: Re: Direct3D initialization failed
    I now have directx 10 but nothing still works
  •  07-04-2012, 6:19 PM 960768 in reply to 960736
    Metis Metis is not online. Last active: Thu, Dec 26 2013, 1:38 AM
    Member
    Top 10 Contributor
    Total Posts: 7,783
    Last Post: 12-26-2013
    Member Since: 01-17-2007
    Subject: Re: Direct3D initialization failed

    quickfireme:
    I now have directx 10 but nothing still works

    The old Intel video set chipset is just not compatible with the AOE 3 game. It's incompatibility has been noted in the FAQ for over five years now.

    The third-part workaround driver allows these laptops to play some video games but you just won't be able to play Age of Empires.

    Perhaps it's time for a new computer. Before purchasing one look game websites for specifications to see if the system you are interested in will play the games you want.

  •  07-04-2012, 10:28 PM 960794 in reply to 960768
    Meep26 Meep26 is not online. Last active: 12-03-2012, 4:58 PM
    Member
    Not Ranked
    Total Posts: 16
    Last Post: 12-03-2012
    Member Since: 06-29-2012
    Subject: Re: Direct3D initialization failed
    Your cd might be scratched. I had the same prob with aom and I later figured out that the disk was scratched

    always expect the unexpected
View as RSS news feed in XML