Age of Empires Forums

advanced
in

Last post 08-03-2012, 11:49 PM by Metis. 5 replies.
Sort Posts:
  •  08-01-2012, 7:16 PM 963637
    nooblet nooblet is not online. Last active: 08-07-2012, 3:24 PM
    Not Ranked
    Total Posts: 3
    Last Post: 08-07-2012
    Subject: crashes before menu is fully displayed after vid intro

Hello!  I bought this game through steam.  I have only been able to play it twice and only when starting it by going to my program files folder and choosing the exe file.  This does not work often.  When it crashes it either goes black screen and no notice or black screen and send an error report to microsoft.  I have searched the forums but maybe im not very good at searching.  Here is what I have tried so far:

Update drivers for sound video and chipset

clean boot ( tried installing with all antivirus deactivated before trying clean boot)

Numerous reinstalls including after clean boot

running xp sp3

amd phenom 2 X6 1075t

3.1gb ram

nvidia gtx260

Thanks for any help/suggestions you could give me

•  08-01-2012, 11:04 PM 963650 in reply to 963637
    Metis Metis is not online. Last active: Thu, Dec 26 2013, 1:38 AM
    Top 10 Contributor
    Total Posts: 7,783
    Last Post: 12-26-2013
    Subject: Re: crashes before menu is fully displayed after vid intro

Remember that if you are running under Windows 7 that you you must run the game both under XP, service pack 3 compatibility mode and as an administrator.

Are you running XP? Is this a newer computer? Did it come with XP or did you install it later? Is it a retail version of XP or an OEM from a previous system?  

Go to Start and run dxdiag -- does it report errors?

Go to Start and run devmgmt.msc, expand the display adapter section -- does it report any errors?

You can save the dxdiag report to a text file  and post the information here. If you have a brand-name computer the make and model number will help too.

Try skipping the opening movies: