Age of Empires Forums


  advanced
in


Last post 07-30-2008, 12:53 AM by Verme.Sys. 3 replies.
Sort Posts:
  •  02-18-2008, 6:56 AM 656188
    Vikingking Vikingking is not online. Last active: 11-05-2009, 11:59 AM
    Member
    Not Ranked
    Total Posts: 89
    Last Post: 11-05-2009
    Member Since: 10-23-2007
    Subject: Initialization Failed Could not load DATAP.BAR
     

     

    Subject: Cannot start AOE3

    Now before i installed my new aoe3 i uninstalled my old one first. Eg. I bought a new aoe3 game vanilla for new keycard for new account. The thing is i uninstalled my old one and then i installed my new one. Now the new one is now starting Initialization Failed Could not load DATAP.BAR and i cannot uninstall it or play it. A problem with this is it installed in program files like normal but it didn't install in my documents, my games. I press express install not custom. Also when i installed the new aoe3 it installed on another folder in program files, Microsoft games, and it says aoe3 and another called aoe3 (2). I tried system restore but that didn't help. So i now want to uninstall but it fails. I put the new aoe3 in and press uninstall and it says preparing to uninstall then load screen then freezes and shuts off. Now i already asked this question and no reply so i want an answer please. (I am not talking about any expansions here).

     




  •  02-18-2008, 10:35 PM 656587 in reply to 656188
    ES_Paragon ES_Paragon is not online. Last active: 06/09/2012, 8:36 AM
    Member
    The Capital Wastelands
    Top 10 Contributor
    ES Moderator
    Total Posts: 10,339
    Last Post: 06-09-2012
    Member Since: 09-26-2005
    Subject: Re: Initialization Failed Could not load DATAP.BAR

    It does sound like you need a complete reinstall of the game, try the steps to see about getting your current installation removed:

    • First, uninstall all trial versions of the game that you have installed (if any)...
    • Then, download and then run the Microsoft Windows Installer application installation and configuration service updater…
    • Note: The file you will download there is named: WindowsInstaller-KB893803-v2-x86.exe
    • Then, after that installation concludes, download and then run the Windows Installer Clean Up Utility
    • Note: The file you will download there is named: msicuu2.exe
    • After installing, first click the "Windows Install Clean Up" shortcut, then select the game you are having trouble installing/uninstalling/reinstalling (either "Age of Empires III" or "Age of Empires III - The War Chiefs"), then click "Remove"...
      • After you complete the above, reboot with a  "Clean Boot" and empty your Windows temp folder.
    • Browse to and empty your windows temp folder. You can find your temp folder by clicking start=> run, then type %temp%, click ok.
    • temporarily disable any/all anti-virus/firewall/anti-spyware software running on your system, then try to reinstall...
  •  02-19-2008, 8:00 AM 656659 in reply to 656587
    Vikingking Vikingking is not online. Last active: 11-05-2009, 11:59 AM
    Member
    Not Ranked
    Total Posts: 89
    Last Post: 11-05-2009
    Member Since: 10-23-2007
    Subject: Re: Initialization Failed Could not load DATAP.BAR
    Thanks for your help Paragon but...... that didn't fix the problem i still cannot uninstall. Any other suggestions?



  •  07-30-2008, 12:53 AM 729390 in reply to 656587
    Verme.Sys Verme.Sys is not online. Last active: 07-30-2008, 12:54 AM
    Member
    Not Ranked
    Total Posts: 1
    Last Post: 07-30-2008
    Member Since: 07-30-2008
    Subject: Re: Initialization Failed Could not load DATAP.BAR
    Hummmm ... in directory game already Datap.bar ... copy the archive and rename to DataPx.bar its works for expansions just do it....copy the archive and rename , you have in directory DataP.bar and DataPx.bar ,  ok   GOOD GAME kisses for allBig Smile by Verme.Sys
View as RSS news feed in XML