Age of Empires Forums


  advanced
in


Last post 02-19-2010, 11:12 PM by MUZZIES. 34 replies.
Page 1 of 3 (35 items)   1 2 3 Next >
Sort Posts:
  •  11-10-2008, 3:39 PM 771194
    computerwiz3 computerwiz3 is not online. Last active: 06-12-2012, 6:07 PM
    Member
    Top 200 Contributor
    Total Posts: 879
    Last Post: 06-12-2012
    Member Since: 05-04-2007
    Subject: Run game without CD
    Well it says it in the title. Is it posssiable? Without streaming the disc across the network...that would LAG UBERLY. Please get back to me ASAP, Thanks in advanced! Computerwiz3
  •  11-10-2008, 3:43 PM 771196 in reply to 771194
    yoyoland yoyoland is not online. Last active: 01/21/2010, 9:12 PM
    Member
    where posting makes no sense since its always dele
    Top 500 Contributor
    Total Posts: 677
    Last Post: 01-21-2010
    Member Since: 10-01-2006
    Subject: Re: Run game without CD

    no

    u cant


    the most hated by the mods...did ur post get deleted??? welcome to ma world
  •  11-10-2008, 3:43 PM 771197 in reply to 771194
    ES_Lethe ES_Lethe is not online. Last active: 12-10-2010, 4:26 PM
    Member
    Top 500 Contributor
    ES Moderator
    Total Posts: 606
    Last Post: 12-10-2010
    Member Since: 10-22-2007
    Subject: Re: Run game without CD
    There is no legal way to run the game without the cd in the drive.
  •  11-10-2008, 3:43 PM 771198 in reply to 771194
    Marlonsm Marlonsm is not online. Last active: Thu, Jul 29 2010, 2:43 PM
    Member
    Somewhere else...
    Top 50 Contributor
    Total Posts: 3,214
    Last Post: 07-29-2010
    Member Since: 01-21-2008
    Subject: Re: Run game without CD
    As far as I know, all you can do is to remove the CD after the game has started, because the game doesn't use files on the CD, it just check if it's there. Anti-piracy stuff...


    Think Vista's Aero is nice? So you haven't seem Linux's Compiz yet.
  •  11-10-2008, 4:46 PM 771246 in reply to 771198
    computerwiz3 computerwiz3 is not online. Last active: 06-12-2012, 6:07 PM
    Member
    Top 200 Contributor
    Total Posts: 879
    Last Post: 06-12-2012
    Member Since: 05-04-2007
    Subject: Re: Run game without CD

    Ok, thanks guys. I was just curious because I might invest in a Netbook (with an intregrated nvidia 512mb graphics card), but it doesnt have a CD drive.. USB mini drive here I come (they are expensive though...)

    Thanks again!

    Computerwiz3

  •  11-11-2008, 7:47 AM 771565 in reply to 771246
    IrR3aLiSt IrR3aLiSt is not online. Last active: 04/10/2012, 4:12 PM
    Member
    Not Ranked
    Total Posts: 98
    Last Post: 04-10-2012
    Member Since: 06-28-2006
    Subject: Re: Run game without CD

    It is possible, I do it. There are basically 2 different scenarios:

    1) The game is already installed.

    2) You are doing a new install.

    ============

    You first need a virtual drive (Daemon/Nero/Alcohol). 

    Then create an image of your CD. And save it to your new laptop. 

    From then on you can simply load your image into your virtual drive. 

    1) In this case you can simply change the registry and have the game's install drive point to your virtual drive's letter. 

    2) When you do a clean install from your virtual drive then you dont need any registry changes. 

     =========================================

    You need a valid account to play online. This does not crack anything, it just saves you the hassle and noise of spinning CD's and I also think it speeds up the loading process.

     Link to picture of the registry change (mind you its from TWC so bit dated)My Virtual Drive letter was then F:

    http://i232.photobucket.com/albums/ee89/irrealist/snap65ke.jpg

    point of interest: you can dl. a tiny DVDimage which is only 100 kB. And load that up in your drive. 


  •  11-11-2008, 9:58 AM 771585 in reply to 771246
    TheLastCanadian TheLastCanadian is not online. Last active: 12-12-2010, 11:56 PM
    Member
    Somewhere in a snow drift.
    Top 150 Contributor
    Total Posts: 1,391
    Last Post: 12-12-2010
    Member Since: 08-16-2007
    Subject: Re: Run game without CD
    computerwiz3:

    Ok, thanks guys. I was just curious because I might invest in a Netbook (with an intregrated nvidia 512mb graphics card), but it doesnt have a CD drive.. USB mini drive here I come (they are expensive though...)

    Thanks again!

    Computerwiz3

    I know there are a couple programs that let you load the disk onto a hdd partition and it's just like using the disc, but it's on your hard drive.

     

    And as to the dvd, depends on the type. You can only write to dvdr once, regardless if it's full or not. so yea, if you burned 120kb, that's all you can put on that disc.



  •  11-11-2008, 2:14 PM 771648 in reply to 771565
    computerwiz3 computerwiz3 is not online. Last active: 06-12-2012, 6:07 PM
    Member
    Top 200 Contributor
    Total Posts: 879
    Last Post: 06-12-2012
    Member Since: 05-04-2007
    Subject: Re: Run game without CD
    IrR3aLiSt:

    It is possible, I do it. There are basically 2 different scenarios:

    1) The game is already installed.

    2) You are doing a new install.

    ============

    You first need a virtual drive (Daemon/Nero/Alcohol). 

    Then create an image of your CD. And save it to your new laptop. 

    From then on you can simply load your image into your virtual drive. 

    1) In this case you can simply change the registry and have the game's install drive point to your virtual drive's letter. 

    2) When you do a clean install from your virtual drive then you dont need any registry changes. 

     =========================================

    You need a valid account to play online. This does not crack anything, it just saves you the hassle and noise of spinning CD's and I also think it speeds up the loading process.

     Link to picture of the registry change (mind you its from TWC so bit dated)My Virtual Drive letter was then F:

    http://i232.photobucket.com/albums/ee89/irrealist/snap65ke.jpg

    point of interest: you can dl. a tiny DVDimage which is only 100 kB. And load that up in your drive. 

     

    Dude, nice guide. This should help me with my laptop :D. What program do you use? Could you PM me a full step by step guide? This would help me ALOT! Thanks again!

  •  11-11-2008, 2:45 PM 771664 in reply to 771648
    Shunmaha Shunmaha is not online. Last active: 05-12-2010, 5:20 PM
    Member
    Inside Town Centre
    Top 500 Contributor
    Total Posts: 839
    Last Post: 05-12-2010
    Member Since: 07-16-2008
    Subject: Re: Run game without CD
    Wow.. that hard drive is really getting filled up. No matter how long i use my computers. they always use like a max of 20gb.

    I need hope
  •  11-11-2008, 4:09 PM 771691 in reply to 771664
    computerwiz3 computerwiz3 is not online. Last active: 06-12-2012, 6:07 PM
    Member
    Top 200 Contributor
    Total Posts: 879
    Last Post: 06-12-2012
    Member Since: 05-04-2007
    Subject: Re: Run game without CD
    I ahve a 500 gb hdd. I got it in late july, it only has 343 GB free. Less than 6 months and 157 gb already used. :D :D I wil invest in a 1TB hss soon... Along with a GTX 280 and a blue ray drive :D
  •  11-11-2008, 11:56 PM 771805 in reply to 771691
    IrR3aLiSt IrR3aLiSt is not online. Last active: 04/10/2012, 4:12 PM
    Member
    Not Ranked
    Total Posts: 98
    Last Post: 04-10-2012
    Member Since: 06-28-2006
    Subject: Re: Run game without CD
    I'll PM you after work.

  •  11-12-2008, 12:16 AM 771808 in reply to 771805
    Wilson_teh_Great Wilson_teh_Great is not online. Last active: 11-08-2010, 2:09 AM
    Member
    Australia - where we ride Kangaroos to school.
    Top 25 Contributor
    Total Posts: 3,237
    Last Post: 11-08-2010
    Member Since: 01-01-2008
    Subject: Re: Run game without CD

    The virtual drive is a good solution, I'd have posted it if IrR3aLiSt hadn't beaten me to it.

    You could also try using a no-cd patch to allow you to play the game without having to put the disk in, but this results in you getting CRC mismatches when playing online.

    I seriously think they should release a no-cd fix in the last patch. Only people who play the game online get the updates for it anyway, so don't anyone quote that "it prevents piracy" rubbish to me.


    Know what's weird? Day by day, nothing seems to change. But pretty soon, everything's different.
  •  11-12-2008, 2:53 PM 771916 in reply to 771805
    computerwiz3 computerwiz3 is not online. Last active: 06-12-2012, 6:07 PM
    Member
    Top 200 Contributor
    Total Posts: 879
    Last Post: 06-12-2012
    Member Since: 05-04-2007
    Subject: Re: Run game without CD

    IrR3aLiSt:
    I'll PM you after work.

    Thanks man, this should help me alot! Wilson, I like your idea, but the CRC error is an error I already spent hours fixing with a friend.... So i'd prefer to not use it. Thanks anyway :D

    To install the game I am going to borrow a USB CD drive from a friend, installation over my network, while being 1GBPS wired, would be a pain.

    Thanks to all again!

  •  11-12-2008, 3:08 PM 771925 in reply to 771916
    GTM GTM is not online. Last active: 05-01-2009, 10:40 AM
    Member
    Somewhere Better - http://nmaps.net
    Top 25 Contributor
    Total Posts: 4,126
    Last Post: 05-01-2009
    Member Since: 02-22-2008
    Subject: Re: Run game without CD
    Yeah, virtual drives bypass the copyright protection, because essentially they dont exist until prompted. Or I think so Tongue Tied



    Click it and find the reason why Im no longer active here...
  •  11-12-2008, 3:12 PM 771927 in reply to 771925
    computerwiz3 computerwiz3 is not online. Last active: 06-12-2012, 6:07 PM
    Member
    Top 200 Contributor
    Total Posts: 879
    Last Post: 06-12-2012
    Member Since: 05-04-2007
    Subject: Re: Run game without CD
    Im not trying to override the copyright, I bought the game, and I am a law abiding american, I just do not want to lug acount extra stuff when I travle and I feel like a good game of AoE III TAD :D
Page 1 of 3 (35 items)   1 2 3 Next >
View as RSS news feed in XML