Age of Empires Forums


  advanced
in


Last post 01-16-2011, 9:56 PM by Metis. 7 replies.
Sort Posts:
  •  01-16-2011, 5:30 AM 908285
    Fiona Fiona is not online. Last active: 01-20-2011, 6:22 AM
    Member
    Not Ranked
    Total Posts: 1
    Last Post: 01-20-2011
    Member Since: 01-16-2011
    Subject: Error 1305 on installation of Age of Empires 3 - help!

    My 10 year old son is trying to install age of empires 3 on our new pc which runs windows 7.  (He hasn't played it for months because our old pc died ..)  We keep getting a message:

    "Error 1305: error reading from file E:\age of empires 3\autopatcher.exe.  Verify that the file exists and that you can access it"

    I've tried googling this but wasn't really sure I understood any of the answers ... and didn't want to download any of the suggested files to fix it as I had no idea where they came from.  To be honest, I don't know what an autopatcher is either ... Thought I might get a better answer from a forum like this!

    Just thought someone out there might be able to help - minimum use of jargon please!!!

    Thanks!!

     

     

     

  •  01-16-2011, 5:48 AM 908286 in reply to 908285
    Sergeant ROFLcopter Sergeant ROFLcopter is not online. Last active: 10-27-2013, 9:48 AM
    Member
    Top 500 Contributor
    Total Posts: 689
    Last Post: 10-27-2013
    Member Since: 01-11-2011
    Subject: Re: Error 1305 on installation of Age of Empires 3 - help!
    Fiona:

    My 10 year old son is trying to install age of empires 3 on our new pc which runs windows 7.  (He hasn't played it for months because our old pc died ..)  We keep getting a message:

    "Error 1305: error reading from file E:\age of empires 3\autopatcher.exe.  Verify that the file exists and that you can access it"

    I've tried googling this but wasn't really sure I understood any of the answers ... and didn't want to download any of the suggested files to fix it as I had no idea where they came from.  To be honest, I don't know what an autopatcher is either ... Thought I might get a better answer from a forum like this!

    Just thought someone out there might be able to help - minimum use of jargon please!!!

    Thanks!!


    Auto patcher is a program file that automatically downloads "corrections" to the game. When originally designed, the game wasn't exactly fair and 14 or so patches have come out to fix those issues. Thats what a patch is and thats what autopatcher does. If your son wishes to play online then he'll need the patched version but if not he should be fine without patches. Is he able to play or does it not work at all? If he can play then its no big deal if he's not planning on being online. He's ten so I'm assuming thats a year or two away.

    EDIT: If you go to Microsoft's website you should be able to download and install the patch manually, if its on Microsoft then its safe.






    Supremacy: Level 29 Major
    Skype: sergeant.roflcopter





  •  01-16-2011, 7:27 AM 908296 in reply to 908285
    CCC CCC is not online. Last active: 01-21-2011, 5:19 PM
    Member
    Not Ranked
    Total Posts: 11
    Last Post: 01-21-2011
    Member Since: 01-12-2011
    Subject: Re: Error 1305 on installation of Age of Empires 3 - help!

    I don't know if this is related. But if I recall, month ago maybe?

    I formatted to 32-bit 7.

     I had the same issues I think, not if this is related, I ran CCleaner, removed most of the files im my tmp folder. Fixed it.

  •  01-16-2011, 8:40 AM 908300 in reply to 908285
    kjn kjn is not online. Last active: 09/03/2011, 6:25 PM
    Member
    Top 10 Contributor
    Total Posts: 5,629
    Last Post: 09-03-2011
    Member Since: 12-24-2005
    Subject: Re: Error 1305 on installation of Age of Empires 3 - help!
  •  01-16-2011, 5:04 PM 908346 in reply to 908300
    zorc17 zorc17 is not online. Last active: 11 Feb 2014, 3:12 PM
    Member
    The Great White North, Canada
    Top 75 Contributor
    Total Posts: 1,723
    Last Post: 02-11-2014
    Member Since: 07-29-2009
    Subject: Re: Error 1305 on installation of Age of Empires 3 - help!
    kjn:
    +1

    plenty of 1305 help... been their done that... in the end i fixed it with a new comp + and new game... (i got both new bc it was a good deal (both very cheap at that time ^^)


    Zorc17
    The great white north is snowing today

    Imperial Redcoat:
    Zorc is cool don't fk around brah.
  •  01-16-2011, 6:28 PM 908364 in reply to 908300
    Sergeant ROFLcopter Sergeant ROFLcopter is not online. Last active: 10-27-2013, 9:48 AM
    Member
    Top 500 Contributor
    Total Posts: 689
    Last Post: 10-27-2013
    Member Since: 01-11-2011
    Subject: Re: Error 1305 on installation of Age of Empires 3 - help!
    kjn:

    Haha cut the woman a break. Its a mom installing it for her son, not some douche flaming at anyone critical of his bad idea :P






    Supremacy: Level 29 Major
    Skype: sergeant.roflcopter





  •  01-16-2011, 6:39 PM 908370 in reply to 908364
    musketeer925 musketeer925 is not online. Last active: 03-13-2014, 9:15 PM
    Member
    Head of Custom Content (Unofficial)
    Top 25 Contributor
    Total Posts: 4,013
    Last Post: 03-13-2014
    Member Since: 05-18-2009
    Subject: Re: Error 1305 on installation of Age of Empires 3 - help!

    Haha cut the woman a break. Its a mom installing it for her son, not some douche flaming at anyone critical of his bad idea :P

    +1 (*realizes this is my very first post consisting of just "+1" and decides to add something else.*)
  •  01-16-2011, 9:56 PM 908393 in reply to 908370
    Metis Metis is not online. Last active: Thu, Dec 26 2013, 1:38 AM
    Member
    Top 10 Contributor
    Total Posts: 7,783
    Last Post: 12-26-2013
    Member Since: 01-17-2007
    Subject: Re: Error 1305 on installation of Age of Empires 3 - help!

    The 1305 error is a disk read error and is usually associated with a dirty or damaged disk. I would suggest an examination of the media and a gentle cleaning. If this doesn't work and the disk is obviously scratched it may be possible to use a CD polisher (available in most electronics sections of department stores) to restore its functionality. I also would open the CD drive and look inside with a flashlight to see if any lint or dust can be seen. If there is some then you might give it a spritz with a can of compressed "air."

    If this doesn't work you might try here:

    http://support.microsoft.com/fixit/

    There may be other "fixes" but having never received this error I can only refer you again to Microsoft:

    http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;258496

    Now for a rant:

    One thing I have noticed in teaching, especially with the MP3 generation, is an almost blatant disregard for the condition of damageable media. I can't recall the number of CDs and DVDs I've seen held with the readable media firmly pinched between a greasy thumb and finger, or the times I've seen bare disks thrown in knapsacks, stuck in pockets or dropped on the floor and wiped "clean" on a sleeve or pants leg. At the end of the semester, most of my student's disks began to look like someone had taken a wire brush to them. Some damage can be tolerated with a music CD or video DVD but it sometimes only takes a single bit of unreadable data to corrupt a computer software installation.

View as RSS news feed in XML