Age of Empires Forums


  advanced
in


Last post 01-24-2011, 5:56 PM by Metis. 11 replies.
Sort Posts:
  •  01-24-2011, 4:49 AM 909241
    eddy18 eddy18 is not online. Last active: 01-25-2011, 3:56 AM
    Member
    Not Ranked
    Total Posts: 4
    Last Post: 01-25-2011
    Member Since: 01-24-2011
    Subject: AOE III graphics problem on Vista

    Hi guys.

    The problem is: when I scroll the map during game the screen keeps, like, lagging but in short breaks. It keeps making short breaks while scrolling. But not blurring.

    I installed the patch to run the game on Vista and haven't done nothing more.

    My graphics card:  NVIDIA GeForce 9200M GS. I'm playing on laptop. widescreen.

    Help with the solution if you can [*-)]

  •  01-24-2011, 7:31 AM 909246 in reply to 909241
    kjn kjn is not online. Last active: 09/03/2011, 6:25 PM
    Member
    Top 10 Contributor
    Total Posts: 5,629
    Last Post: 09-03-2011
    Member Since: 12-24-2005
    Subject: Re: AOE III graphics problem on Vista
  •  01-24-2011, 8:10 AM 909248 in reply to 909246
    eddy18 eddy18 is not online. Last active: 01-25-2011, 3:56 AM
    Member
    Not Ranked
    Total Posts: 4
    Last Post: 01-25-2011
    Member Since: 01-24-2011
    Subject: Re: AOE III graphics problem on Vista
    I don't think this has something to do with performance, because the problem doesn't disappear when I set everything to the lowest parameters. My laptop is quite new and it surpasses the game requirements. [^o)]
  •  01-24-2011, 12:01 PM 909261 in reply to 909248
    Verelina / Flametalon Verelina / Flametalon is not online. Last active: 05/04/2013, 12:25 PM
    Member
    I ONLY PLAY WOW NOW
    Top 75 Contributor
    Total Posts: 1,848
    Last Post: 05-04-2013
    Member Since: 02-24-2007
    Subject: Re: AOE III graphics problem on Vista
    Sounds like your GPU's getting hot. I have that problem with my GPU, when I bump up the resolution, and since your computer's a laptop, it makes it much more likely too. I believe this may be the case, as we have had past people complain about this, and Aloysius would always talk about temperature, and I wouldn't believe it, and then it happened to me.

  •  01-24-2011, 12:20 PM 909269 in reply to 909261
    eddy18 eddy18 is not online. Last active: 01-25-2011, 3:56 AM
    Member
    Not Ranked
    Total Posts: 4
    Last Post: 01-25-2011
    Member Since: 01-24-2011
    Subject: Re: AOE III graphics problem on Vista
    And did you solve the problem ? :)
  •  01-24-2011, 12:22 PM 909271 in reply to 909269
    Verelina / Flametalon Verelina / Flametalon is not online. Last active: 05/04/2013, 12:25 PM
    Member
    I ONLY PLAY WOW NOW
    Top 75 Contributor
    Total Posts: 1,848
    Last Post: 05-04-2013
    Member Since: 02-24-2007
    Subject: Re: AOE III graphics problem on Vista
    Well for me, it was as simple as opening my case when it's really bad/I want to have nice graphics, or lowing the resolution to 800x600.

  •  01-24-2011, 12:29 PM 909276 in reply to 909271
    Ryz0n Ryz0n is not online. Last active: 01-19-2014, 12:36 PM
    Moderator
    Redmond, WA
    Top 75 Contributor
    MGS
    Total Posts: 1,711
    Last Post: 01-19-2014
    Member Since: 12-20-2010
    Subject: Re: AOE III graphics problem on Vista

    Laptop hard drives are notoriously slow (unless you have a SSD) - if your drive is relatively, you'll want to defragment it.  Additionally, how much memory do you have in your system?  (Basically it sounds to me like the computer is bottlenecking getting data to display the map).    Iwouldn't say its GPU related if you are still having issues in lower resolutions.  You want to make sure there aren't any programs running in the background that are churning up CPU cycles or writing to the disk a lot.  If you play while an antivirus scan is running, that could cause those symptoms. 

     

    Finally, does this happen when playing against a computer / offline?  Hate to say it....but it could just be lag too :p 

  •  01-24-2011, 12:32 PM 909277 in reply to 909276
    Verelina / Flametalon Verelina / Flametalon is not online. Last active: 05/04/2013, 12:25 PM
    Member
    I ONLY PLAY WOW NOW
    Top 75 Contributor
    Total Posts: 1,848
    Last Post: 05-04-2013
    Member Since: 02-24-2007
    Subject: Re: AOE III graphics problem on Vista
    My old laptop's HDD was 7200 RPM. Was that slow? (Honest question, Ryz0n.)

  •  01-24-2011, 12:54 PM 909280 in reply to 909277
    eddy18 eddy18 is not online. Last active: 01-25-2011, 3:56 AM
    Member
    Not Ranked
    Total Posts: 4
    Last Post: 01-25-2011
    Member Since: 01-24-2011
    Subject: Re: AOE III graphics problem on Vista
    I guess you are right. I have shut down the antivirus, skype and the "lag" wasn't that bad, it decreased. But why does AOE III take up so much resources.. I have been playing "The settlers VI" which has greater graphics, I believe, than AOE III and it worked fine. That's disappointing Sad
  •  01-24-2011, 1:49 PM 909283 in reply to 909277
    Ryz0n Ryz0n is not online. Last active: 01-19-2014, 12:36 PM
    Moderator
    Redmond, WA
    Top 75 Contributor
    MGS
    Total Posts: 1,711
    Last Post: 01-19-2014
    Member Since: 12-20-2010
    Subject: Re: AOE III graphics problem on Vista

    EV:
    My old laptop's HDD was 7200 RPM. Was that slow? (Honest question, Ryz0n.)

    Nope, that's a good thing.  Most desktop hard drives are 7200RPM (with 10k being high end for platter.  I've seen a couple SCSI at 15k...but not common for consumer).  Most laptops will have drives around 5400RPM.  It consumes less power, which in turn increases battery life and reduces heat.  Of course, with the increasing popularity of  SSDs, it may end up being a moot point in the next few years.

     

     

     

    With the issue that the original poster is having, it doesn't seem like graphics quality is really what's causing your issue,  or you would have seen a big performance boost when you dropped the resolution. A few things, like water quality / reflection, shadows, etc can make a big different in how choppy the game runs, while only marginally providing a better visual experience.  Smoke and volumetric lighting in modern games are the real GPU killers, though arguably GPU tech is for once outpacing game design.  (Especially since so many games are designed for consoles, and a lot of PCs are shifting from the big power hungry monstrosities into the sleeker stuff.  Welcome to the world of SOC and mobility).  But I digress,

    In this situation you're looking at most likely a CPU / HD or memory bottleneck, and different games use the CPU very differently, so regardless of what a game looks like - its not always a legitimate indicator of how the CPU gets used.  In fact, RTS games are usually CPU bound, while FPS are generally GPU bound.  

  •  01-24-2011, 3:01 PM 909293 in reply to 909283
    deanparkr deanparkr is not online. Last active: 03 Jan 2014, 6:03 PM
    Member
    UK
    Top 500 Contributor
    Total Posts: 601
    Last Post: 01-03-2014
    Member Since: 10-10-2005
    Subject: Re: AOE III graphics problem on Vista
    One way you could check to see if its a hard disk bottleneck would be to observe the hard drive activity light on the laptop. If the light is flashing alot or turns solidly on when moving around the map then it must be related to disk speed / low memory / paging.

    www.remember-ensemblestudios.com
    http://twitter.com/Remember_ES
  •  01-24-2011, 5:56 PM 909311 in reply to 909293
    Metis Metis is not online. Last active: Thu, Dec 26 2013, 1:38 AM
    Member
    Top 10 Contributor
    Total Posts: 7,783
    Last Post: 12-26-2013
    Member Since: 01-17-2007
    Subject: Re: AOE III graphics problem on Vista

    Here are a few free applications you can run in order to help determine where a bottleneck may be occurring:

    • Windows Resource Monitor will give you a graphical output of CPU, disk, network, and memory usage.
    • Core Temp and GPU_Z will tell you how hard your CPU and video card are working and how hot they are getting, CPUID's Hardware Monitor is handy too.
    • Benchmark programs like 3DMark can give you specific information on what video parameters may be slowing you down.
    • Even the Windows Experience Index may give you some hints as to the location of the bottleneck. 
View as RSS news feed in XML