Age of Empires Forums


  advanced
in


Last post 12-10-2013, 3:10 PM by musketeer925. 24 replies.
Page 1 of 2 (25 items)   1 2 Next >
Sort Posts:
  •  06-25-2012, 9:06 PM 960099
    Metis Metis is not online. Last active: Thu, Dec 26 2013, 1:38 AM
    Member
    Top 10 Contributor
    Total Posts: 7,783
    Last Post: 12-26-2013
    Member Since: 01-17-2007
    Subject: CD/DVD Media Install & Reinstall Procedures

    You can successfully install the game under Windows Vista through Windows 8 from the CDs by following the steps below (if you are installing via Steam or GFWL then follow their instructions; GameStop users getting an account creation failure see footnote @ at the end of the post):

    PREP YOUR SYSTEM

    1. Log on to a system administrator account <-- this is important!

    If this is a first-time install, go to step 6.

    2. If the game (or a demo) has been previously installed, uninstall as far as you can from the Control Panel, then follow the instructions below (necessary as the Microsoft uninstaller does not completely remove all entries, which prevents successful re-installation of the game):

    2a. CCleaner <-- download and install this program.

    Manually remove the AOE III folders (If you have a 32-bit OS there will be no (x86).

      1. Disk Set/GFWL
        1. C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Games\Age of Empires III
      2. Impulse
        1. C:\Program Files\Microsoft Game Studios\Age of Empires III - Complete Collection\
      3. Steam:
        1. C:\Program Files\Steam\steamapps\common\Age Of Empires

    Manually remove the Documents folder

    1. C:\Users\<your log-in name>\Documents\My Games\Age of Empires 3

    Now, run CCleaner's Registry scan and unmark everything except those listings pertaining to Age of Empires III. Allow the program to delete these entries.

    3. Use CCleaner to to remove temporary files.

    4. Run Windows Disk Cleanup and defragment your hard disk.

    5. Reboot your system (there may be data still in memory that can conflict with the new install).

    NOW IT'S TIME TO INSTALL THE GAME!

    6. Install/reinstall the game.

    1. Download the latest patches for your language at agecommunity.com
      1. AoE3 patch: http://www.agecommunity.com/gameUpdates.aspx
      2. WarChiefs patch: http://www.agecommunity.com/gameUpdates_xp.aspx
      3. Asian Dynasties patch: http://www.agecommunity.com/gameUpdates_yp.aspx  
    2. Now, Disconnect from Internet. <-- this is important!
    3. Shut down your anti-virus software as it can interfere with the game install.
    4. Go to Start and type in "Autoplay" then cancel it temporarily.
    5. Insert the AOE III CD, then browse the CD until you find setup.exe.
    6. Right-click setup.exe and choose "Run as Administrator."
      1. NOTE: If you get a "disk space" error and you know that you have sufficient space (> 3 GB) just click on the error popup's "X" (not "OK") and the install should continue. Note that if you are installing the game on a nearly-full drive you may not have enough space -- you will need to install it on another drive. The game requires considerable temporary disk space to install so you need to make sure that your temp folder is on a drive with sufficient space.
    7. When asked, check "Yes" to "Install for all users?" -- if you forget this step you may have to create a folder in order to install TWC and/or modify user permissions to run the game (see * and ** below).
    8. Patch the game (and the expansions if you install them) by right-clicking on each patch's .exe file and selecting "Run as Administrator."
    9. Browse to C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Games\Age of Empires III (if you downloaded the game from other than GFWL see the footnote # at the end of this post).
      1. Right-click on Age3.exe and check the box labeled "Run as Administrator." then select the compatibility menu option "Windows XP, Service Pack 3." (see *** below for specific instructions if you are unclear as how to do this).
        1. Do the same for Age3x.exe (TWC) if you have installed this expansion.
        2. Do the same for Age3y.exe (TAD) if you have installed this expansion.
      2. Create shortcuts for each .exe file, again selecting "Run as administrator" and "Windows XP, Service Pack 3" compatibility -- you will launch the game by double-clicking on the appropriate shortcut.
    10. Make sure the game is listed in the exceptions list of the firewall you use (Note: if you are using ZoneAlarm you may have to manually change the exception settings to give the game both access and server rights).

    APPENDIX

    * If TWC will not install (depending on your Windows version):

    First, make sure that the basic game (AOE 3) is installed on your computer; TWC and TAD are expansions of the basic game, not standalone games.

    For XP (from ES_Paragon):

    1. Right-Click the start button and select "Explore"
    2. Navigate to the "All Users" directory, then "Start Menu", then "Programs"
    3. Create a directory called "Microsoft Games"
    4. In that directory, create another directory called "Age of Empires III"

    For Vista (from ES_Paragon):

    1. Right-Click the Vista button and select "Open All Users"
    2. Navigate and open the "Programs" folder
    3. Look for a folder named "Microsoft Games", if it does not exist create it
    4. In that directory, create another directory called "Age of Empires III"

    For Win 7 (from Dragonshooter):

    1. Start > Right Click on All Programs
    2. Open All Users > Programs make a folder called (Microsoft Games)
    3. Open that folder then make another folder called (Age of Empires III).

    Once you have created the above folders, install TWC as noted in the install section.

    ** How to take ownership of a file and/or assign user permissions.

    *** Running AOE 3 under Windows 7/Vista in compatibility mode.

    1. Right-click the game's .exe file
      1. 64-bit location: C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Games\Age of Empires III
      2. 32-bit location: C:\Program Files\Microsoft Games\Age of Empires III
      3. Read this if you don't know which Vista\Win 7 OS you have.
    2. Select Properties.
    3. Select the Compatibility tab.
    4. Check the box next to Run this Program in compatibility mode for.
    5. Scroll the menu below this until you find Windows XP (Service Pack 3).
    6. Click Apply and then OK.

    Here and here are pictures to go with the explanation above.

    # File locations (from Musketeer):

    Retail or GFWL:
    C:\Program Files\Microsoft Games\Age of Empires III\

    Impulse:
    C:\Program Files\Microsoft Game Studios\Age of Empires III - Complete Collection\

    Steam:
    C:\Program Files\Steam\steamapps\common\Age Of Empires 3

    And if your operating system is 64-bit, change "Program Files" to "Program Files (x86)".

    @ GameStop users and account creation failure (from RyZ0n) 

    The gamestop build works fine, but there are a few catches that could be tripping you up.

    After installing via GameStop, make sure to run the core Age of Empires 3 game first (not the expansions). It will require you to input the CD key provided to you in your impulse client.

    At this point you should not get a "failed to create account" error message.

  •  07-12-2012, 3:13 PM 961289 in reply to 960099
    Neverseperat Neverseperat is not online. Last active: 10-27-2014, 9:57 PM
    Member
    Top 25 Contributor
    Total Posts: 4,154
    Last Post: 10-27-2014
    Member Since: 05-11-2008
    Subject: Re: Install/Reinstall Procedures

    Additionally, here is the guide to manually remove Age of Empires 3 from your computer.

    This guide is how to Properly Uninstall Age or Empires 3, Make sure to read through each step Carefully.
    Step1. Uninstall the game completely and reinstall the game in clean boot mode. Edit

    Uninstall the game completely





    1. Click on Start

    2. Click on Control Panel.

    3. Click on Switch to classic view.

    4. Click on Add or Remove programs.

    5. Select the Microsoft Age of Empires III The Asian Dynasties or The WarChiefs (Only if you have them installed) and click on remove. (Remember to Unstall both Expansions if they are installed)

    6. Select Microsoft Age of Empires III and click remove.





    Note: If you still unable to remove the game then turn off the system and restart the system and try to remove the game.





    Step 2. Remove the game folder





    1. Right click on Start

    2. Click on Explore

    3. Click on program files

    4. Double click on Microsoft games

    5. Select the Age of Empires III folder and press the Delete key on the keyboard.







    Step 3. Remove the game from Registry.





    WARNING:



    1. Click on Start

    2. Click on Run3

    . In the box type regedit and press Enter key.

    4. Double Click on HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE

    5. Double Click on Software

    6. Double Click on Microsoft

    7. Double Click on Microsoft Games

    8. Select the Age of Empires III expansion pack and press the delete key on the keyboard.

    9. Select the Age of Empires III folder and press the delete key on the keyboard.





    Step 4. Remove the game entries under HKEY_CURRENT_USER



    1. Click on Start.

    2. Click on Run.

    3. in the box type regedit and press Enter key.

    4. Double Click on HKEY_CURRENT_USER

    5. Double Click on Software

    6. Double Click on Microsoft

    7. Double Click on Microsoft Games

    8. Select the Age of Empires III expansion pack and press the Delete key on the keyboard.

    9. Select the Age of Empires III folder and press the delete key on the keyboard.







    Step 5. Delete the game Folder.





    1. Click Start, and then click Search or “Find or Search" and click "All files and folders".

    2. In the Named box or the "All or part of the file name" box, type "Age of Empires III" (without the quotation marks).

    3. In the "Look in" box, click My Computer.

    4. Click "Find Now" or "Search".

    5. Right-click the Age of Empires III folder, click Delete, and then click yes.

    6. Close all the windows.





    Step 6. Delete the saved games.





    1. Click on Start and then click on My Documents.

    2. Double Click on My Games locate the folder named Age of Empires 3 and delete it.





    'Note:' The above steps will remove the Age of Empires III and expansion pack completely from the system.





    After uninstalling the game please follow the steps to create a new user profile.
    Step 7.Create a New User Account Edit



    1. Click Start, point to Control Panel, and then click User Accounts.

    2. On the Users tab, click Add.

    3. Type a name for your user account, your full name, and a description for your account.

    4. If the computer is set up as part of a client/server network, type the domain name, and then click next.





    'Note: If the computer is set up as an individual computer (without a network) or in a ''''Peer-to-peer network, you do not have to provide a domain name.

    5. Type a user password, and then type the user password again to confirm it.



    6. Important: Passwords are case–sensitive. For example, “MyPassword” and

    “mypassword” are treated as two different passwords.




    7. Click Next.



    8. Select the level of access for your user account, and then click Finish.





    Note: Some games require a user account with Administrator level access to run.





    Step 8. Please reinstall the game in a new user profile





    1. Insert the game disc in the drive.





    Note: Do not click Express Install during setup.

    2. Follow the setup menus until you see the Change button. 3. Click Change. 4. In the Path box, delete the existing path, and then type drive: \Program Files\Microsoft Games\ game name. In this example, drive is the, drive letter of the hard disk and game name is the name of the game that you are trying to install. 5. Click OK when you are finished. 6. Follow the directions that appear on the screen to install the game.



    Try these steps out and your problem might get resolved if you have not tried any of these steps that's why the issue occurs so check if you have missed any 1 of these steps


    source: http://aoe3.wikia.com


    TychoPsycho:
    I dislike Dutch the most cuz the envoy and flute sound like tards and the explorer yelling is so annoying when you tell him to attack.
  •  07-12-2012, 6:57 PM 961299 in reply to 961289
    Metis Metis is not online. Last active: Thu, Dec 26 2013, 1:38 AM
    Member
    Top 10 Contributor
    Total Posts: 7,783
    Last Post: 12-26-2013
    Member Since: 01-17-2007
    Subject: Re: Install/Reinstall Procedures

    Note that the steps in the post immediately above apply only to Windows XP 32-bit. Registry locations are different in Windows 7 and pathnames are different if you have a 64-bit OS or have downloaded and installed the game via GameStop or Steam. I highly recommend that you do not try to manually delete Windows 7 Registry entries as the Registry structure is not as simple as it was in XP.

  •  07-14-2012, 11:46 AM 961481 in reply to 961299
    Metis Metis is not online. Last active: Thu, Dec 26 2013, 1:38 AM
    Member
    Top 10 Contributor
    Total Posts: 7,783
    Last Post: 12-26-2013
    Member Since: 01-17-2007
    Subject: Re: Install/Reinstall Procedures

    A configuration file, called USER.CFG may be use to set certain game parameters outside the game. This file is useful when you might have inadvertently set a graphics resolution that is incompatible with your system, if you want to speed loading of the game, lessen lag, or attempt to fix failure to join issues among other things.

    To create this file:

    1. Open Notepad and type in nointrocinematics
    2. Select File from the menu then Save As.
    3. Enter user.cfg in the file name area
    4. Scroll the Save as type menu selection to All Files.
    5. Browse to My Documents\My Games\Age of Empires 3\Startup and save the file.  

    Now, open the game, if you have properly named and saved the file it should skip the intro movies.

    Useful commands:

    nointrocinematics (skips intro movies)

    hideparticles=true (sets particles off, potentially lessening cannon and ship lag)

    xres=1024 (sets graphics to a standard resolution)
    yres=768

    overrideaddress="address" (sets an IP address for game use)
    overrideport="port number" (opens a port for game use)
     

  •  07-17-2012, 1:34 PM 962027 in reply to 960099
    Noriega_E Noriega_E is not online. Last active: 07-18-2012, 4:18 PM
    Member
    Not Ranked
    Total Posts: 1
    Last Post: 07-18-2012
    Member Since: 07-17-2012
    Subject: Re: Install/Reinstall Procedures

    hi I have the same problem than ignistrostrum here

    http://forum.agecommunity.com/forums/thread/754335.aspx

    but my computer is dual core

    what should I do?

    thank you 

    EDU 

  •  07-17-2012, 3:17 PM 962035 in reply to 962027
    Metis Metis is not online. Last active: Thu, Dec 26 2013, 1:38 AM
    Member
    Top 10 Contributor
    Total Posts: 7,783
    Last Post: 12-26-2013
    Member Since: 01-17-2007
    Subject: Re: Install/Reinstall Procedures
    Please ask your questions in a new thread so that this one can remain uncluttered and easier for people to find and access the information.
  •  08-26-2012, 2:07 PM 966002 in reply to 962035
    armbrust11 armbrust11 is not online. Last active: 08-26-2012, 3:50 PM
    Member
    Not Ranked
    Total Posts: 43
    Last Post: 08-26-2012
    Member Since: 12-01-2008
    Subject: Re: Install/Reinstall Procedures
    You may be prompted to enter CD-keys for the expansion packs after installing them from GameStop's Impulse. however, the keys provided are too long. Use this solution from their support reprisentative: 

    The two expansions share the same serial code as the base game. The two other keys are just placeholders and are not meant to be used for anything. Please use the serial code for the base game and it should work out fine.
  •  08-27-2012, 3:03 PM 966057 in reply to 966002
    Ryz0n Ryz0n is not online. Last active: 01-19-2014, 12:36 PM
    Moderator
    Redmond, WA
    Top 75 Contributor
    MGS
    Total Posts: 1,711
    Last Post: 01-19-2014
    Member Since: 12-20-2010
    Subject: Re: Install/Reinstall Procedures
    Actually, a correction on the above Armbrust.  It should not prompt you for a CD key for the expansions.  That means the game did not install correctly.  You may need to run the installer as administrator.
  •  03-12-2013, 10:38 AM 983722 in reply to 960099
    Sebastiancoolb Sebastiancoolb is not online. Last active: 03-16-2013, 1:43 PM
    Member
    Not Ranked
    Total Posts: 1
    Last Post: 03-16-2013
    Member Since: 03-11-2013
    Subject: Re: Install/Reinstall Procedures
    Does this work on Windows 8 Pro 64-bit?
  •  03-12-2013, 4:02 PM 983750 in reply to 983722
    musketeer925 musketeer925 is not online. Last active: 03-13-2014, 9:15 PM
    Member
    Head of Custom Content (Unofficial)
    Top 25 Contributor
    Total Posts: 4,013
    Last Post: 03-13-2014
    Member Since: 05-18-2009
    Subject: Re: Install/Reinstall Procedures
    Most likely -- some options/settings/etc might be in different places, though.
  •  06-16-2013, 1:32 PM 991876 in reply to 983750
    emmett_ht emmett_ht is not online. Last active: 06-18-2013, 5:17 PM
    Member
    Not Ranked
    Total Posts: 2
    Last Post: 06-18-2013
    Member Since: 06-16-2013
    Subject: Re: Install/Reinstall Procedures

    I have the same problem.  Uninstalled aoe3 (which was working fine) because that was a recommend since War Chiefs wouldn't install.  Did all the recommended cleaning and removing as above.  Now aoe3 won't reinstall.  Followed steps given.  Install button does not show.  When I try selecting the setup.exe, just starts installing and just stops.

     

    I'm no techie.  Just a mom trying to help my kid, so any help appreciated, but gotta keep it simple!

  •  06-16-2013, 7:17 PM 991898 in reply to 991876
    musketeer925 musketeer925 is not online. Last active: 03-13-2014, 9:15 PM
    Member
    Head of Custom Content (Unofficial)
    Top 25 Contributor
    Total Posts: 4,013
    Last Post: 03-13-2014
    Member Since: 05-18-2009
    Subject: Re: Install/Reinstall Procedures
    Go to Start, Control Panel, Programs, Programs and Features, and see if the game still appears there. If so, try uninstalling it from there, see if that fixes it.

    If it doesn't uninstall or isn't there, try downloading CCleaner (from step 2a), go to the registry tab and click "Scan for Issues", and then when it's done with that, "Fix selected issues...". It'll prompt whether you want a backup, probably -- just save anywhere. Just in case it breaks something, but it shouldn't. Then, "Fix All Selected Issues". Then reboot.

    Hopefully, the registry scan in CCleaner will have gotten rid of it, and then you should be able to install (as described in step 6 above).

  •  06-18-2013, 7:38 AM 992056 in reply to 991898
    jriver15 jriver15 is not online. Last active: 08-20-2013, 9:49 AM
    Member
    Not Ranked
    Total Posts: 6
    Last Post: 08-20-2013
    Member Since: 06-18-2013
    Subject: Re: Install/Reinstall Procedures

    WHY IS IT FROZEN AT LOADING HOME CITY SCREEN

     

  •  06-18-2013, 12:38 PM 992165 in reply to 992056
    musketeer925 musketeer925 is not online. Last active: 03-13-2014, 9:15 PM
    Member
    Head of Custom Content (Unofficial)
    Top 25 Contributor
    Total Posts: 4,013
    Last Post: 03-13-2014
    Member Since: 05-18-2009
    Subject: Re: Install/Reinstall Procedures
    jriver15:

    WHY IS IT FROZEN AT LOADING HOME CITY SCREEN

     

    That's tuesday maintainence.
  •  06-18-2013, 7:58 PM 992187 in reply to 962035
    Neverseperat Neverseperat is not online. Last active: 10-27-2014, 9:57 PM
    Member
    Top 25 Contributor
    Total Posts: 4,154
    Last Post: 10-27-2014
    Member Since: 05-11-2008
    Subject: Re: Install/Reinstall Procedures
    Metis:
    Please ask your questions in a new thread so that this one can remain uncluttered and easier for people to find and access the information.

    TychoPsycho:
    I dislike Dutch the most cuz the envoy and flute sound like tards and the explorer yelling is so annoying when you tell him to attack.
Page 1 of 2 (25 items)   1 2 Next >
View as RSS news feed in XML