Age of Empires Forums


  advanced
in


Last post 07-06-2012, 9:30 PM by Metis. 10 replies.
Sort Posts:
  •  07-05-2012, 6:15 AM 960831
    Sopor81 Sopor81 is not online. Last active: 07-06-2012, 6:31 AM
    Member
    Not Ranked
    Total Posts: 4
    Last Post: 07-06-2012
    Member Since: 07-05-2012
    Subject: Can't reinstall Age of Empires

    I've installed AOE 3 (on Windows 7 64 bit) from the three discs, as so many here it just doesn't wanna play. So I tried to uninstall and reinstall AOE BUT whenever I start the first disc now I only get the options of Start and Uninstall (and both do absolutely nothing). Used Windows Utility, Revo Uninstaller. Wiped everything that remotly sounds like AOE ... but still only get the options Start or Uninstall ...

     HELP! 

  •  07-05-2012, 7:36 AM 960834 in reply to 960831
    pizzafreak pizzafreak is not online. Last active: 02-07-2014, 4:19 AM
    Member
    Not Ranked
    Total Posts: 106
    Last Post: 02-07-2014
    Member Since: 01-07-2012
    Subject: Re: Can't reinstall Age of Empires
    yea i had the same problem on my old win7.. I couldnt fix it although i tried lots of uninstall-programs and deleted all left registry entries i could find. Fastest solution was making installing a parallel windows. It just takes around 40 min. :)

    Harcha:

    George:
    When you say "win easy (imperial gendarmes win most games)". Do you mean spamming them?


    no that would be too easy. i dont hold my shift button down to make it more fair

  •  07-05-2012, 7:42 AM 960835 in reply to 960831
    pizzafreak pizzafreak is not online. Last active: 02-07-2014, 4:19 AM
    Member
    Not Ranked
    Total Posts: 106
    Last Post: 02-07-2014
    Member Since: 01-07-2012
    Subject: Re: Can't reinstall Age of Empires
    i didnt read it all but maybe it helps: forum.agecommunity.com/forums/thread/960099.aspx

    Harcha:

    George:
    When you say "win easy (imperial gendarmes win most games)". Do you mean spamming them?


    no that would be too easy. i dont hold my shift button down to make it more fair

  •  07-05-2012, 9:41 AM 960841 in reply to 960835
    Metis Metis is not online. Last active: Thu, Dec 26 2013, 1:38 AM
    Member
    Top 10 Contributor
    Total Posts: 7,783
    Last Post: 12-26-2013
    Member Since: 01-17-2007
    Subject: Re: Can't reinstall Age of Empires

    Here is the new Microsoft FixIt, you might try this before you try anything else.

    Fix problems with programs that can't be installed or uninstalled

  •  07-05-2012, 12:03 PM 960859 in reply to 960841
    Sopor81 Sopor81 is not online. Last active: 07-06-2012, 6:31 AM
    Member
    Not Ranked
    Total Posts: 4
    Last Post: 07-06-2012
    Member Since: 07-05-2012
    Subject: Re: Can't reinstall Age of Empires

    Thanks guy but no cigar so far ...

    The Microsoft FiXit can't find AOE so I can't remove it ... then it asks for a product ID or something.

    Wouldn't mind spending 40 mins for the solution as I'm already spending two days on it!

    When I put in the disc and open it or open the .exe file as Administrator, I can still only choose Play or Uninstall. If I press uninstall, Install Wizard opens ... and closes ... if I press play, I get cant find age3.exe. 

  •  07-05-2012, 12:24 PM 960861 in reply to 960859
    jayve98 jayve98 is not online. Last active: 09-07-2014, 8:59 PM
    Member
    Top 150 Contributor
    Total Posts: 1,189
    Last Post: 09-07-2014
    Member Since: 03-15-2012
    Subject: Re: Can't reinstall Age of Empires
    if ur having issues finding the files u could install it on another computer u have and then copy the files on to a flash drive or something and then bring the files over to ur main comp that u plan on playing with. im not sure though as ive never had any install/uninstall issues

    dcdonnie4:

    The more costeffective army can win vs a more expensive (better unit) because they can just keep throwing them at the other player.

  •  07-05-2012, 4:45 PM 960877 in reply to 960861
    Sopor81 Sopor81 is not online. Last active: 07-06-2012, 6:31 AM
    Member
    Not Ranked
    Total Posts: 4
    Last Post: 07-06-2012
    Member Since: 07-05-2012
    Subject: Re: Can't reinstall Age of Empires
    I have no issues finding the files cause I know the files are not on there anymore ... I just can't reinstall cause I only get the options uninstall or play ...
  •  07-05-2012, 4:58 PM 960880 in reply to 960877
    jayve98 jayve98 is not online. Last active: 09-07-2014, 8:59 PM
    Member
    Top 150 Contributor
    Total Posts: 1,189
    Last Post: 09-07-2014
    Member Since: 03-15-2012
    Subject: Re: Can't reinstall Age of Empires
    well what i said might still work if u just copied the files on to the game again

    dcdonnie4:

    The more costeffective army can win vs a more expensive (better unit) because they can just keep throwing them at the other player.

  •  07-05-2012, 5:57 PM 960885 in reply to 960880
    Metis Metis is not online. Last active: Thu, Dec 26 2013, 1:38 AM
    Member
    Top 10 Contributor
    Total Posts: 7,783
    Last Post: 12-26-2013
    Member Since: 01-17-2007
    Subject: Re: Can't reinstall Age of Empires

    Assuming you have a legitimate copy of Windows and of the game and the FixIt failed, then clear your temporary file folder, manually delete any leftover AOE 3 folders and then use CCleaner or the Microsoft Installer Cleanup Utility to remove the Registry entries. You might also need to create a folder in order to get the game to install. All of this information is listed here:

    http://forum.agecommunity.com/forums/thread/960099.aspx

    The steps work if you perform them as listed -- I (and others) worked these steps out over many uninstall/reinstall attempts. Just a couple of weeks ago I installed a mod that necessitated a complete removal and clean install of the game so that I could play online games again. I followed the procedures (I've done them so many times they are second nature to me) and the uninstall/reinstall went without a hitch (I went the manual deletion CCleaner route).

  •  07-06-2012, 6:38 AM 960962 in reply to 960885
    Sopor81 Sopor81 is not online. Last active: 07-06-2012, 6:31 AM
    Member
    Not Ranked
    Total Posts: 4
    Last Post: 07-06-2012
    Member Since: 07-05-2012
    Subject: Re: Can't reinstall Age of Empires

    Thanks for the reply, it is really appreciated but CCleaner, Windows Installer Cleanup Utility and Revo  all can't find anything related to AOE. Even if I search manually I can't find anything related to AOE. But now whenever I insert the disc, I only get Play or Uninstall while I want to install it ...

    I would love to follow all these steps described but I need to find the file first that stops me from installing it again; 

  •  07-06-2012, 9:30 PM 960996 in reply to 960962
    Metis Metis is not online. Last active: Thu, Dec 26 2013, 1:38 AM
    Member
    Top 10 Contributor
    Total Posts: 7,783
    Last Post: 12-26-2013
    Member Since: 01-17-2007
    Subject: Re: Can't reinstall Age of Empires

    Did you go completely through the FixIt and let it do its thing? If so, and you still have no luck:

    Make sure your Windows Install is OK

    Go to Start

    type in

    cmd

    at the command prompt, type in

    sfc /scannow

    reboot

    Uregister and re-register the Windows Installer

    Go to Start

    type in

    cmd

    at the command prompt type in

    msiexec /unreg

    then

    msiexec /regserver

    Go to Start

    type in

    services.msc

    find the Windows Installer (the list is alphabetical so it's near the bottom)

    start the service

    If you are still getting the problem my advice would be to do a either do a repair or even a clean install of Windows. Sometimes systems get so cluttered nothing works right and it's easiest for many users to just start anew. Of course this will depend on your knowledge, experience and system. Advice on how to do this is beyond the purview of this forum. If you want advice on cleaning up your system or wish to explore other options, then you might want to ask your questions here:

    http://www.techsupportforum.com/

View as RSS news feed in XML