Age of Empires Forums


  advanced
in


Last post 08-09-2012, 2:41 PM by Ozymandias. 7 replies.
Sort Posts:
  •  08-08-2012, 6:48 PM 964208
    Ozymandias Ozymandias is not online. Last active: 08-11-2012, 1:32 PM
    Member
    Not Ranked
    Total Posts: 14
    Last Post: 08-11-2012
    Member Since: 08-08-2012
    Subject: ....Why are they attacking the walls?

    I absolutely love this game. But this has to be the single most absurd thing I've seen and it really whiters away the enjoyability of it. Particularly since I acquired this "Improvement mod" Now all of the AIs make a ton of walls, two layers at the minimum. And if I don't spend every second monitoring the attack the troops begin attacking these walls despite the fact that a massive gaping hole exists.

     

    I mean it's understandable for them to attack the walls if there are no other buildings or units around. But they prioritize these meaningless walls!! They could be standing next to a lookout attacking them, and they'll be attacking these damn walls! Please help! There must be some fix for this issue! I can't be the only one this effects.

  •  08-08-2012, 6:51 PM 964209 in reply to 964208
    musketeer925 musketeer925 is not online. Last active: 03-13-2014, 9:15 PM
    Member
    Head of Custom Content (Unofficial)
    Top 25 Contributor
    Total Posts: 4,013
    Last Post: 03-13-2014
    Member Since: 05-18-2009
    Subject: Re: ....Why are they attacking the walls?
    The only possible fix would be to make the AI not build walls.
  •  08-08-2012, 6:56 PM 964211 in reply to 964209
    Ozymandias Ozymandias is not online. Last active: 08-11-2012, 1:32 PM
    Member
    Not Ranked
    Total Posts: 14
    Last Post: 08-11-2012
    Member Since: 08-08-2012
    Subject: Re: ....Why are they attacking the walls?
    So there is no way to rearrange the priority of the buildings being attacked?
  •  08-08-2012, 8:12 PM 964216 in reply to 964211
    gibson gibson is not online. Last active: 04-24-2014, 5:34 PM
    Member
    Tennessee
    Top 25 Contributor
    Total Posts: 3,615
    Last Post: 04-24-2014
    Member Since: 11-03-2009
    Subject: Re: ....Why are they attacking the walls?
    i believe that if you make them attack the wall and then while holding down shift then while still holding down shift have them attack a biulding inside the wall they will attack the building inside wall after taking down the one section of wall
  •  08-08-2012, 8:20 PM 964222 in reply to 964216
    Ozymandias Ozymandias is not online. Last active: 08-11-2012, 1:32 PM
    Member
    Not Ranked
    Total Posts: 14
    Last Post: 08-11-2012
    Member Since: 08-08-2012
    Subject: Re: ....Why are they attacking the walls?

    Huh...that could just be what I was looking for. Can't believe I hadn't thought of that. I use shift all the time, but only for movement and troop creation.

  •  08-08-2012, 9:07 PM 964226 in reply to 964222
    gibson gibson is not online. Last active: 04-24-2014, 5:34 PM
    Member
    Tennessee
    Top 25 Contributor
    Total Posts: 3,615
    Last Post: 04-24-2014
    Member Since: 11-03-2009
    Subject: Re: ....Why are they attacking the walls?
    yeah its nice
  •  08-09-2012, 4:50 AM 964265 in reply to 964226
    Jerom Jerom is not online. Last active: 28 Dec 2013, 7:18 PM
    Member
    Delfgauw, The Netherlands
    Top 10 Contributor
    Total Posts: 10,000
    Last Post: 12-28-2013
    Member Since: 11-19-2009
    Subject: Re: ....Why are they attacking the walls?
    Lol just make your troops move through the gap in the walls and your problem is solved. You are supposed to monitor your troops a lot anywyas lol

    [N3O] Jerom_the_brave
    http://www.youtube.com/user/N3OJerom?feature=mhee

  •  08-09-2012, 2:41 PM 964318 in reply to 964265
    Ozymandias Ozymandias is not online. Last active: 08-11-2012, 1:32 PM
    Member
    Not Ranked
    Total Posts: 14
    Last Post: 08-11-2012
    Member Since: 08-08-2012
    Subject: Re: ....Why are they attacking the walls?

    It's a bit confusing since there are two layers of walls and the AI hardly ever makes a single continuous layer. It's really a multitude of randomly placed sections with gaps all around where there are patches of trees, trade routes and buildings. So technically I don't even have to bring the walls down, I could march in through the gap caused by a trade route.

     

     

View as RSS news feed in XML