Age of Empires Forums


  advanced
in


Last post 08-11-2012, 1:47 PM by pihihi. 8 replies.
Sort Posts:
  •  08-10-2012, 3:42 PM 964443
    pihihi pihihi is not online. Last active: 08-11-2012, 5:27 PM
    Member
    Not Ranked
    Total Posts: 5
    Last Post: 08-11-2012
    Member Since: 08-10-2012
    Subject: AOE 3 Warchiefs installation
    I have tried the things at all other fourms that suggest they will fix the error " Age of  Empires 3 was not installed for allusers or the current user" I have it installed , and i even uninstalled and reinstalled , i made that new directory in the all users after right clicking start button ,  asian dynasties installed fine , my account is the only one i know of on this computer, i also tried running as an administrator even though my account already is , nothing has works so far , been at this for almost an hour  i am currently using windows vista 64 bit , was going to try and uninstall and reinstall AOE 3 again but it doesn't seem to wanna uninstall anymore . any here got a clue as to whats the problem please don't tell me i wasted my money on this
  •  08-10-2012, 3:43 PM 964444 in reply to 964443
    gibson gibson is not online. Last active: 12-19-2013, 12:13 PM
    Member
    Tennessee
    Top 25 Contributor
    Total Posts: 3,615
    Last Post: 12-19-2013
    Member Since: 11-03-2009
    Subject: Re: AOE 3 Warchiefs installation
    pihihi:
    I have tried the things at all other fourms that suggest they will fix the error " Age of  Empires 3 was not installed for allusers or the current user" I have it installed , and i even uninstalled and reinstalled , i made that new directory in the all users after right clicking start button ,  asian dynasties installed fine , my account is the only one i know of on this computer, i also tried running as an administrator even though my account already is , nothing has works so far , been at this for almost an hour  i am currently using windows vista 64 bit , was going to try and uninstall and reinstall AOE 3 again but it doesn't seem to wanna uninstall anymore . any here got a clue as to whats the problem please don't tell me i wasted my money on this
    you installed on an administrative account right?  and you selected the box in the installation that says install for all users right?
  •  08-10-2012, 3:47 PM 964448 in reply to 964444
    pihihi pihihi is not online. Last active: 08-11-2012, 5:27 PM
    Member
    Not Ranked
    Total Posts: 5
    Last Post: 08-11-2012
    Member Since: 08-10-2012
    Subject: Re: AOE 3 Warchiefs installation
    ya my account is an administrator and yes i did click that box , but i only have one user so i dont see the point
  •  08-10-2012, 4:12 PM 964461 in reply to 964448
    Metis Metis is not online. Last active: Thu, Dec 26 2013, 1:38 AM
    Member
    Top 10 Contributor
    Total Posts: 7,783
    Last Post: 12-26-2013
    Member Since: 01-17-2007
    Subject: Re: AOE 3 Warchiefs installation

    First, uninstall The Warchiefs at the Control panel and then run the Microsoft FixIt chose the option to run things manually then select "Age of Empires III The Warchiefs" to finish the uninstall. 

    Then (From Microsoft): 

    1. Right-Click the Vista button and select "Open All Users"
    2. Navigate and open the "Programs" folder
    3. Look for a folder named "Microsoft Games", if it does not exist create it
    4. In that directory, create another directory called "Age of Empires III"

    Additional steps:

    1. Clear your temporary files folders (I use this application). 
    2. Disconnect from the Internet and stop your anti-virus (some interfere with installation).
    3. Reinstall TWC, by right-clicking setup.exe and selecting "Run as Administrator"

    You also may need to run the game in XP compatibility mode. More info on installing and running the game can be found here:

    http://forum.agecommunity.com/forums/thread/960099.aspx

  •  08-10-2012, 8:40 PM 964493 in reply to 964461
    pihihi pihihi is not online. Last active: 08-11-2012, 5:27 PM
    Member
    Not Ranked
    Total Posts: 5
    Last Post: 08-11-2012
    Member Since: 08-10-2012
    Subject: Re: AOE 3 Warchiefs installation
    i never had warchiefs install that was the problem  it wouldnt install , i have tried uninstalling and reinstalling  AOE3  twice and i was going to try it again but it wont reinstall , it opens the install wizard then it just closes , it just does nothing , i tried Microsoft fix it but when i went to trouble shoot my install it says  error 0x80040154 , so now i cant even get AOE 3 on my computer , i should have just stuck to games on steams  it never gave me troubles like this , AOE 3 is fun game but all this hassle is kinda bullshit
  •  08-10-2012, 10:26 PM 964506 in reply to 964493
    Metis Metis is not online. Last active: Thu, Dec 26 2013, 1:38 AM
    Member
    Top 10 Contributor
    Total Posts: 7,783
    Last Post: 12-26-2013
    Member Since: 01-17-2007
    Subject: Re: AOE 3 Warchiefs installation

    The error you have received might be linked to an error with the Windows Installer. Try downloading the newest version of the Windows Installer.

    If you are sunning 64-bit Vista, this is the download you will need: x64 Platform: Windows6.0-KB942288-v2-x64.msu

    http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=8483

    I would assume that your OS has the latest Service Pack installed and is completely up to date but if it's not then you should go to Windows Update and make it so. Also, please read the Vista FAQ on the main page of this site in reference to the article below.

    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/932246/en-us

     

  •  08-11-2012, 1:43 AM 964521 in reply to 964506
    pihihi pihihi is not online. Last active: 08-11-2012, 5:27 PM
    Member
    Not Ranked
    Total Posts: 5
    Last Post: 08-11-2012
    Member Since: 08-10-2012
    Subject: Re: AOE 3 Warchiefs installation
    ok i got AOE3 back on to computer , but warchiefs still wont install keeps coming up with that same error
  •  08-11-2012, 9:54 AM 964542 in reply to 964521
    Metis Metis is not online. Last active: Thu, Dec 26 2013, 1:38 AM
    Member
    Top 10 Contributor
    Total Posts: 7,783
    Last Post: 12-26-2013
    Member Since: 01-17-2007
    Subject: Re: AOE 3 Warchiefs installation

    Are you trying to install from an original disk that you purchased or an official download from Steam, GFWL, etc.? The reason I ask this is that if you are trying to install from a disk copy or from a torrent download then what you are trying to install may not include the proper files and we are just beating our heads against a wall here.

    Which error are you now receiving, the "not installed for all users" or the other one? At what specific point in the process do you receive this error; for example, do you get the error when you right-click setup.exe and try to install or when you try to run the game that you have installed and configures to run as an administrator and in XP compatibility mode?  

    Did you install the new version of the Windows installer and update Vista with the program compatibility patch as specified above?

    Did you go to Windows Update get the latest service pack for your Operating system and continue the update process until it was completed (for an older system that has not been updated in a while this will require several reboots and rechecks)?

    When you do the above, get your Windows disk and put it into the drive, then go to Start (or hit the Windows key) and type in

    cmd

    Then press Ctrl-Shift-Enter

    You should see an elevated command prompt, in it type

    sfc /scannow

    and press Enter. If your computer asks you to reboot to continue the process do so. This will ensure that your operating system has no bad files.

    After the above process has completed, try uninstalling and reinstalling TWC as outlined in the install section but instead of using the FixIt, goto step #3 and use the Windows Installer Cleanup Utility to remove any traces of TWC. After this, ensure that the proper folders are created before re-installing. Remember that when installing the game you must right click setup.exe and select run as administrator and also check the box that prompts you to install for all users.

    Just to be clear on the folder you need to create:

    1. For Vista, right click the Start button (for Win 7, click Start then right-click All Programs)
    2. Select Open All users
    3. Double-click the Programs folder
    4. If there is not a folder called Microsoft Games create one
    5. In the Microsoft Games folder create another folder called Age of Empires III
  •  08-11-2012, 1:47 PM 964565 in reply to 964542
    pihihi pihihi is not online. Last active: 08-11-2012, 5:27 PM
    Member
    Not Ranked
    Total Posts: 5
    Last Post: 08-11-2012
    Member Since: 08-10-2012
    Subject: Re: AOE 3 Warchiefs installation
    ok thanks guys , i got it now
View as RSS news feed in XML