Age of Empires Forums


  advanced
in


Last post 11-04-2013, 9:53 AM by Jerom. 30 replies.
Page 1 of 3 (31 items)   1 2 3 Next >
Sort Posts:
  •  11-29-2012, 8:40 PM 975174
    AlexPilgrim AlexPilgrim is not online. Last active: 04-12-2013, 4:18 AM
    Member
    Not Ranked
    Total Posts: 41
    Last Post: 04-12-2013
    Member Since: 11-21-2012
    Subject: AoE 3 on Windows 8
    Anyone playing on Windows 8? Any compatibility issue?
  •  11-29-2012, 8:50 PM 975176 in reply to 975174
    musketeer925 musketeer925 is not online. Last active: 03-13-2014, 9:15 PM
    Member
    Head of Custom Content (Unofficial)
    Top 25 Contributor
    Total Posts: 4,013
    Last Post: 03-13-2014
    Member Since: 05-18-2009
    Subject: Re: AoE 3 on Windows 8
    Yes, it works; you'll just need to set compatibility mode for XP SP3.

    http://wotta.com.br/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=76&t=1683

    I have Win8, and the compatibility mode works when setting it to XP Service pack 2/3
  •  11-29-2012, 9:36 PM 975183 in reply to 975176
    AlexPilgrim AlexPilgrim is not online. Last active: 04-12-2013, 4:18 AM
    Member
    Not Ranked
    Total Posts: 41
    Last Post: 04-12-2013
    Member Since: 11-21-2012
    Subject: Re: AoE 3 on Windows 8
    Thank you very much, I'm gonna install Win8 soon so just want to make sure everything works.
  •  11-30-2012, 1:34 AM 975199 in reply to 975183
    Metis Metis is not online. Last active: Thu, Dec 26 2013, 1:38 AM
    Member
    Top 10 Contributor
    Total Posts: 7,783
    Last Post: 12-26-2013
    Member Since: 01-17-2007
    Subject: Re: AoE 3 on Windows 8

    I've been using Windows 8 64-bit Pro since the official release and have had no problems at all playing AOE3.

    Just remember to run the setup file as an administrator and patch the game by running the downloaded patch file as an administrator too. Once you have done this, browse to the game folder in Program Files(x86) and right click on the Age3.exe file then select the option to run the game in Windows XP, Service Pack 3 compatibility mode and as an administrator. Do the same for each expansion.

  •  08-11-2013, 11:54 AM 1000799 in reply to 975199
    lew4972 lew4972 is not online. Last active: 08-12-2013, 10:02 AM
    Member
    Not Ranked
    Total Posts: 4
    Last Post: 08-12-2013
    Member Since: 08-11-2013
    Subject: Re: AoE 3 on Windows 8
    Hi I have just bought AOE3 for windows and I have windows 8 and I dont know how to start the game. I saw in other posts that you need to run the setup file as administrator but I dont know how to so can someone help please. Computer
  •  08-11-2013, 12:59 PM 1000805 in reply to 1000799
    Immentice Immentice is not online. Last active: 11-13-2013, 1:48 PM
    Member
    Top 25 Contributor
    Total Posts: 3,333
    Last Post: 11-13-2013
    Member Since: 01-06-2013
    Subject: Re: AoE 3 on Windows 8

    lew4972:
    Hi I have just bought AOE3 for windows and I have windows 8 and I dont know how to start the game. I saw in other posts that you need to run the setup file as administrator but I dont know how to so can someone help please. Computer

     From steam, gamespot or retail copy of aoe?


    Sergeant ROFLcopter:
    Nobody makes threads when I leave
    Mike:
    Supremacy player: I don't see you getting anything from playing treaty games
    Jerom:
    I am now converted to auggy religion.
  •  08-11-2013, 1:25 PM 1000808 in reply to 1000805
    lew4972 lew4972 is not online. Last active: 08-12-2013, 10:02 AM
    Member
    Not Ranked
    Total Posts: 4
    Last Post: 08-12-2013
    Member Since: 08-11-2013
    Subject: Re: AoE 3 on Windows 8
    I bought it from ebay brand new.
  •  08-11-2013, 5:45 PM 1000832 in reply to 1000808
    Metis Metis is not online. Last active: Thu, Dec 26 2013, 1:38 AM
    Member
    Top 10 Contributor
    Total Posts: 7,783
    Last Post: 12-26-2013
    Member Since: 01-17-2007
    Subject: Re: AoE 3 on Windows 8
  •  08-12-2013, 2:26 AM 1000875 in reply to 1000832
    lew4972 lew4972 is not online. Last active: 08-12-2013, 10:02 AM
    Member
    Not Ranked
    Total Posts: 4
    Last Post: 08-12-2013
    Member Since: 08-11-2013
    Subject: Re: AoE 3 on Windows 8
    Got it working and it works great but the graphics are not as good as on Mac but cant complain. Big Smile
  •  08-12-2013, 2:26 AM 1000876 in reply to 1000832
    lew4972 lew4972 is not online. Last active: 08-12-2013, 10:02 AM
    Member
    Not Ranked
    Total Posts: 4
    Last Post: 08-12-2013
    Member Since: 08-11-2013
    Subject: Re: AoE 3 on Windows 8
    Got it working and it works great but the graphics are not as good as on Mac but cant complain. Big Smile
  •  10-27-2013, 11:33 AM 1012418 in reply to 975199
    Quip11 Quip11 is not online. Last active: 11-01-2013, 4:05 PM
    Member
    Colorado
    Not Ranked
    Total Posts: 5
    Last Post: 11-01-2013
    Member Since: 10-26-2013
    Subject: Re: AoE 3 on Windows 8
    Metis:

    I've been using Windows 8 64-bit Pro since the official release and have had no problems at all playing AOE3.

    Just remember to run the setup file as an administrator and patch the game by running the downloaded patch file as an administrator too. Once you have done this, browse to the game folder in Program Files(x86) and right click on the Age3.exe file then select the option to run the game in Windows XP, Service Pack 3 compatibility mode and as an administrator. Do the same for each expansion.

    Installed Windows 8.1 64-bit. Reinstalled AOE3.  Tried running AOE3 in Win XP SP3 compatibility mode, and as administrator.

    The game does run, but it's really slow and choppy!  What else can I try?


    — Quip11
    _
    To seek out GNU life and GNU civilizations
  •  10-27-2013, 12:34 PM 1012427 in reply to 1012418
    pizzafreak pizzafreak is not online. Last active: 02-07-2014, 4:19 AM
    Member
    Not Ranked
    Total Posts: 106
    Last Post: 02-07-2014
    Member Since: 01-07-2012
    Subject: Re: AoE 3 on Windows 8
    well it works fine here on 8.1. make sure you update graphics drivers to win 8.1 version

    Harcha:

    George:
    When you say "win easy (imperial gendarmes win most games)". Do you mean spamming them?


    no that would be too easy. i dont hold my shift button down to make it more fair

  •  10-27-2013, 5:24 PM 1012480 in reply to 1012427
    Quip11 Quip11 is not online. Last active: 11-01-2013, 4:05 PM
    Member
    Colorado
    Not Ranked
    Total Posts: 5
    Last Post: 11-01-2013
    Member Since: 10-26-2013
    Subject: Re: AoE 3 on Windows 8

    pizzafreak:
    well it works fine here on 8.1. make sure you update graphics drivers to win 8.1 version

    Drivers for my HW are only available through Windows 7. So far. How much of a difference does that make?


    — Quip11
    _
    To seek out GNU life and GNU civilizations
  •  10-27-2013, 5:30 PM 1012483 in reply to 1012418
    Stuo5000 Stuo5000 is not online. Last active: 01-29-2014, 3:21 PM
    Member
    Connecticut, USA
    Top 500 Contributor
    Total Posts: 622
    Last Post: 01-29-2014
    Member Since: 09-09-2013
    Subject: Re: AoE 3 on Windows 8
    Quip11:
    Metis:

    I've been using Windows 8 64-bit Pro since the official release and have had no problems at all playing AOE3.

    Just remember to run the setup file as an administrator and patch the game by running the downloaded patch file as an administrator too. Once you have done this, browse to the game folder in Program Files(x86) and right click on the Age3.exe file then select the option to run the game in Windows XP, Service Pack 3 compatibility mode and as an administrator. Do the same for each expansion.

    Installed Windows 8.1 64-bit. Reinstalled AOE3.  Tried running AOE3 in Win XP SP3 compatibility mode, and as administrator.

    The game does run, but it's really slow and choppy!  What else can I try?

    Well I recently got a Lenovo with Windows 8 on it. I bought the game from Steam and it has worked perfectly ever since.

    Your problem sounds like it might be related to your internet connection. When you say "slow and choppy", are you referring to video resolution, lag or both. To give you any more help, I need to know your computer model, processor, and any other relevant information.


    We do not inherit the earth from our ancestors, we borrow it from our children.
    -Native American proverb
  •  10-27-2013, 8:51 PM 1012513 in reply to 1012483
    Quip11 Quip11 is not online. Last active: 11-01-2013, 4:05 PM
    Member
    Colorado
    Not Ranked
    Total Posts: 5
    Last Post: 11-01-2013
    Member Since: 10-26-2013
    Subject: Re: AoE 3 on Windows 8

    Just slow.  I'm not playing online. It appears like it's running with half a CPU.

    Fortunately I installed Win 8 on a separate HD; I'll boot Win XP to play AOE3 unless I can fix this.


    — Quip11
    _
    To seek out GNU life and GNU civilizations
Page 1 of 3 (31 items)   1 2 3 Next >
View as RSS news feed in XML